Firefly Haiku

fireflies

Firefly

An electric nymph

Cool and effulgent, on an

Unmade bed of grass

Counterfeit

Hands filled with lightning

Wishes light as paper cast

On counterfeit stars

Childhood

Underneath the moon

Harvesting fireflies for a

Primitive lantern

And I had a rictameter

Own me

Through seduction

Dress my spine in satin

The color of expensive wine

Light me recurrently like a firefly

Drink of me, of the forbidden

Sweetness between bared thighs

Make me unchaste

Own me

Submission for

Haiku Heights

Blog Challenge Day 30 Makeup Bag (Not!)

old-bookcase_161087-1280x800

Since I do not have a makeup bag (I do own chapstick and lotion) and do not plan on acquiring one I thought I would choose 20 books from my bookcase instead lol These are not all my of my books and though I have several books by certain authors I chose only to include one for each in the list.

  1. “Void of Course” Jim Carroll

  2. “A Season in Hell and Illuminations” Arthur Rimbaud

  3. “Flowers of Evil” Charles Baudelaire

  4. “A Bell Jar” Sylvia Plath

  5. “The Wisdom of No Escape” Pema Chödrön

  6. “Giovanni’s Room” James Baldwin

  7. “1984” George Orwell

  8. “A Clockwork Orange” Anthony Burgess

  9. “The Metamorphosis” Franz Kafka

  10. “A Picture of Dorian Gray” Oscar Wilde

  11. “The Tao of Pooh” Benjamin Hoff

  12. “Vurt” Jeff Noon

  13. “Jane Eyre” Charlotte Brontë

  14. “Siddhartha” Herman Hesse

  15. “Memoirs of a Geisha” Arthur Golden

  16. “Somebody Somewhere” Donna Williams

  17. “Tuesdays with Morrie” Mitch Albom

  18. “The Book” Alan Watts

  19. “The Beautiful Room is Empty” Edmund White

  20. “Mythology” Edith Hamilton