My prayers hang from the sickle

Of an unjust moon, dread being

Silent I no longer know to what

End I should attach my hope

I was not ready for the nightfall

But there was no way I could

Condemn you to remain on

The verge of departure

=

I can only cry when

Gripping both hands

Upright. How do you

Pronounce goodbye

When a plea for mercy

Sounds like a summons

For murder?

=

My eyes sink starless into an

Unwashed canvas, eclipsed

By cheekbones that grow in

Famine. My smile no longer

Connects to the flow of blood

But hangs on loosely like a

Partially severed limb. I wear

It in defense against those

Who would commiserate

=

I can only cry when

Gripping both hands

Upright. How do you

Pronounce goodbye

When a plea for mercy

Sounds like a summons

For murder?

=

The darkness has arrived

In the embrace of those

We loved, but there is no

Consoling a loneliness

That can only be appeased

By the one newly departed
=
The days we shared are unclear

Now, cobwebs lace my dreams

In the strands of light between

The woman that I knew flickers

Sphinx-like behind my vision, the

Photographs are still, reticent in

Their wooden frames I can no

Replay accurately their depictions

=

Only my heart holds the shapeless,

Indestructible essence of my love and

Here deep inside this sighing vessel you

Nest, a nocturnal bird given to lullaby

=

I chose Stevie Nick’s “Nightbird” as a child I doubt I understood the lyrics and even if I had a dim impression it would be years before I saw cancer. My step-fathers family has a heavy genetic predisposition for cancer, now in his 80s (he is 28 years older than my mom) he’s seen every one of his siblings battle and in all but one case succumb not to just one type of cancer but to multiple types simultaneously. I have lived with the dying. As an adult I still love Stevie Nicks but this song now has a much deeper meaning for me. I wrote a poem as I am not remotely musical.

52 thoughts on “Nightbird

  1. MLM, congrats on being “Freshly Pressed”! From the first line of this poem:
    “My prayers hang from the sickle / Of an unjust moon…” I was hooked. It is quite long, but I hung on every words like your prayers from the sickle (scythe?). Long illness, or a string of them, can alter one’s worldview, even knowing it is not in the family of birth.

    This is both haunting and in a strange way, accepting, as the lullaby sways. Thank you so much. Peace, Amy Barlow Liberatore

  2. how do you pronounce goodbye when a plea of mercy sounds like a death sentence…whew…wicked line that….great hook to get us started too…the sickle moon and which end to hang your hope on…there is an honesty in that…as you journey through this….very nice…

  3. It takes a special gift to spend time with the dying. “I was not ready for the nightfall” says so much. We never really are, are we? And the photographs…most often I think it is hard to look at the photos of the one who has passed, as in the last days they bear so little resemblance to what they looked like in their healthier days. And yes, the heart holds love….in life and in death! Strong writing once again.

  4. I could actually hear this as a song. The repeated stanza is like a sad chorus. My family has a strong history of cancer (mom had breast cancer twice and dad had skin and esophageal cancer). The disease sort of hangs like a shadow. Fortunately for me, my parents both are still alive, but working with hospice, I know the scars that death can bring.

    1. I am so glad your parents are both well. I can imagine it does hang over you, cancer doesn’t run in my family but I am pretty much guaranteed to have strokes and I might not even be old before they start as I have cousins who started in their 30s, with Epilepsy I hate to think of any more disability to my brain. Working with the hospice must be difficult work.

  5. haven’t yet finished reading this piece. It is wonderful, but as my mother is undergoing chemo for a very aggressive cancer at the moment, I find it hard to read. Many of my poems at the moment are about this subject, but I don’t seem to have the strength to “write it head on” as it were. Thank you for doing it for me.

    1. There are many years now between their deaths and my poem it would have been much much too painful to write about as it was happening. I am so sorry to hear about your mother best wishes to you and your family. Thank you so much for your kindness.

  6. Okay, so I love it. Wonderful control of tone and great word choice analytically aside. I want tears and distance from my tears. Give me the nightbird so I may fly!

  7. Wow. You reeled me in with “My prayers hang from the sickle of an unjust moon”. Fantastic lines! As are “My eyes sink starless into an unwashed canvas.” I resonated with the depth of pain in this poem, remembering younger years when farewells were so devastating. Reading your note about the family predisposition to cancer, I read even more depth into your work. Wow. Keep ’em coming.

  8. I have no words … this is pure magic.

    “I can only cry when

    Gripping both hands

    Upright. How do you

    Pronounce goodbye

    When a plea for mercy

    Sounds like a summons

    For murder?”

    Mindblowing !!!

  9. searching for something to say…something to portray your loss…is something we all face from time and the words don’t arrive…what do you day, what can you say…this poem is beautiful..this poem relates the words we all look for…

  10. I was not ready for the nightfall
    But there was no way I could
    Condemn you to remain on
    The verge of departure

    One cannot disregard another who is afflicted (most probably here with cancer) to suffer alone. Apparently it may be terminal.Your process notes tell me you’ve acknowledged their predicament and cared for them. Noble of you, Ma’am!

    Hank

  11. “I was not ready for the nightfall” : most of us are not, isn’t it?
    this is a gripping and powerful write, it got me hooked from the first line.
    thanks for sharing!

  12. such a clear image you paint with your words! I know way too many lovely people who are battling cancer right now. (and I pray daily for them) Even the word strikes terror.

  13. Helen’s comment ‘Glorious, beautiful, searing intellect as ever, finely honed to your craft!’ are words I would have chosen.

    All beautiful, the final stanza is way beyond beautiful, way beyond.

    Anna :o]

Leave a comment