Wordle #291

291

Hers was a green, recumbent fire
a kind of homicidal neutrality
for which no solution was forthcoming.
Hers was a bag of tricks both
precious and terrifying.
Together we were as orange
as a sunrise, a spectral
and uncompromising flame.
I loved her and that goes without saying.

We did not coincide harmoniously.
She was a bell sanctimonious and habitual
and I was a poor godless church mouse.
How she pained me, day after day,
furnishing me and saving me scattered
onto unlabeled disks and I unable
to discern from any of my pieces
a reconcilable identity.
Had I been a board she would have
reduced me to splinters.

I, the love-struck penguin,
forgave it all
in the pursuit of monogamy.
I loved her as a dying man
loves atonement.
She fed me lies on silver trays
and dreams simultaneously
measurable and misleading.

4 responses to “Wordle #291

  1. This is delicious.

    “a kind of homicidal neutrality”

    “Together we were as orange
    as a sunrise, a spectral
    and uncompromising flame.”

    Those are my favorites … and the adorable surprise penguin. 🙂

  2. She fed me lies on silver trays
    and dreams simultaneously
    measurable and misleading.

    Most unbecoming! There’ll be the odd ones in the crowd!

    Hank

Leave a Reply

