Wordle #135 “December 26th, 2016”

Week 136.png

The knife slips vertically
ripping gutters into flesh.
Fabric fragile, I don’t have
the patience to forget.

The sound of your jackboots
stroking the asphalt
is cool and haphazard.
I want to discolor you,
to rip the gloss from our retrospectives.

I lay awake at night
your heartbeats gathering
beneath my ear,
the sincerest form of confession.
I lay awake at night
calculating the distance
between approximately and presentiment.

The origin of all deficit is fear,
without effort there can be no insight.
It’s not enough to be terminal,
there has to be an instinct
more adept than cowardice,
and I’m too selfish for ambivalence.

I always have a hard time switching gears and it feels strange writing poetry again.

10 responses to “Wordle #135 “December 26th, 2016”

  1. Oh wow, I love these:

    “ripping gutters into flesh”
    “I want to discolor you”
    “your heartbeats gathering
    beneath my ear,
    the sincerest form of confession”

    I REALLY miss your daily poems. I hope you’ll just write, whether it feels awkward or not.

  2. This is wonderful, as usual I cannot see the word of the wordle, and the most is
    I lay awake at night
    calculating the distance
    between approximately and presentiment.

    Sounds not like any night… it could be new year’s night really… Happy New Year.

Leave a Reply

