Wordle #129 “November 14th, 2016”

week-129

Gutless, faceless
I turn you sharp-side down
and brew in your penetralia.
I invested so much time
wrestling with conditionals
that I forgot the joy
of everyday surfaces.

The breeze riffles my belongings.
My skittish steps settle where they fall.
I follow the tidewater, drowning as I go.

A repeat offender, a bibliotaph
I caress mute pages in search
of a connection, fake or otherwise,
in search of escape from all that is
public and debilitating.

Wisteria occurs to me as though in a dream,
her flowering limbs purple and defiant.
I dig my feet into the quicksilver earth
and she laughing, shrinks away.

19 responses to “Wordle #129 “November 14th, 2016”

  1. You are in a category of your own when it comes to poetry. I absolutely love what you do. There’s no one else like you.

    “I turn you sharp-side down
    and brew in your penetralia.”

    “I invested so much time
    wrestling with conditionals
    that I forgot the joy
    of everyday surfaces.”

    “A repeat offender …
    I caress mute pages in search
    of a connection”

    “Wisteria occurs to me as though in a dream,
    her flowering limbs purple and defiant.” … You called? 😉

    I LOVE what you did with the ending: “and she laughing, shrinks away” … meaning that she’s your giggly “sh/rink” … therapist. And when you work together, you do it on skates, quieting each other’s too-loud laughter. Doesn’t that sound like the best way to fix our brains?

  2. A lonely soul, transformed by wisteria…
    That is one way to escape the mass media.
    But it reminds me of The Twilight Zone episode where a bibliotaph
    gets trapped with all the books he could ever want to read, but breaks his glasses…

  3. another amazing use of the wordle – and there are some mighty tough words here – but you’ve used them with such skill and ease …. far too many lines here for me single out – but oh the images you paint in my head always thrill and delight me – bravo Yves!

Leave a Reply

