Wordle Special Addition Sound “August 1st, 2016”

Sound Wordle

A percussive rain deafens
my fingers dim, wafers of immaculate moonlight
rustle from underneath a whoosh of fleece.

My ears echo with thunder,
with a nocturne of heartbeats
and gurgled bare-faced sobs.

The wind crackles as if it were a fire
and I too am a fire, thready and popping
in the exaltation of diminishing heat.

My strident breath brims,
a whistle of bones, a weft of scars,
buzzing deep down.

I am a carapace
with more projections
than I can manage.

These sonorous storms seize
peel my layers back
show me for what I am and what I am not.

I knew sound would be a hard one!

14 responses to “Wordle Special Addition Sound “August 1st, 2016”

  1. Ah indeed a challenge – but I think you’ve handled and written through the wordle really well – and have stuck or used it in your voice, nonetheless – which, is really something!

    What I love about this piece is that each stanza stands alone, and yet follows the leader, lending to a completion that is, well, like a musical score, in its own way.

    And using “sound” words to describe and personify is really cool – and I would think fairly difficult ….. so great job! I mean, really …. such innovative use of the words …. loved the lines: with a nocturne of heartbeats
    and gurgled bare-faced sobs.

    but as I’ve said, each stanza is unique and well done …. and you should give your hubby a big hug for such a creative suggestion!

Leave a Reply

