Wordle #252

252

There’s a sense of spring
in your willing thighs,
in the pressure of exchange.
We track each other
every night but come morning
we are compelled to loss.
Frightened by motley promises
and arbitrary addictions
we drift in and out of our respective delusions.

I wake with
the tolling of the bell,
glossy-eyed and blue
around the edges.
Your wordless smile wavers,
behind a veil of nonchalance.
I should say I love you more often
but the delay from my lips to yours
is deafening and I think it cruel
that we should exist only in tandem.

The pen bites back
an incurable itch,
pages jettisoned to ink.
If my words
can be anything
I want them to be doors.
Each of us has a truth
unworthy of affection,
a truth that scars
every aspect gained.

I stand hands shucking
a shock of clouds
hoping to find a mission
that will pay my wages.
I want not for lacking
but for having too much
to consider.
I want not for absence
but for being false
with everyone I meet.
A mask, however, convincing
cannot see what lies
directly in front of it.

9 responses to “Wordle #252

  1. My faves: “We drift in and out of our respective delusions”, and “each of us has a truth…that scars every aspect gained”. I continue to be amazed, several years after meeting your writing, that you can keep up the quality of depth and powerful emotion, and necessary wide-spectrum vocabulary to craft your thoughts–day after day after day. I just marvel.

  2. These sections are awesome:

    “Frightened by motley promises
    and arbitrary addictions”

    “I should say I love you more often
    but the delay from my lips to yours
    is deafening and I think it cruel”

    “The pen bites back
    an incurable itch”

    “If my words
    can be anything
    I want them to be doors.
    Each of us has a truth
    unworthy of affection,
    a truth that scars
    every aspect gained.”

    “I want not for lacking
    but for having too much
    to consider.”

    “A mask, however, convincing
    cannot see what lies
    directly in front of it.” … That is insightful.

  3. Pingback: Mission Bell Calls All | LINES of SHADEAU·

  4. Marvelous writing as always, I really loved these lines and this image, it feels like a fresh concept, a new shade of blue, poetry reinvented:”glossy-eyed and blue
    around the edges.”

Leave a Reply

