Wordle #113 and #114

My hesitations imbue me like a dream,
the mythical fugitive-atrabilious.
I am a tenement singed
by a foreign climate
and fingers steeped in elderberry wine.
I have known only the obstructions
random and superfluous.
I follow your gaze,
the terrible lengths, the proverbial extractions
and I wonder if I too possess
a certain gravity,
a gravity that incites shadows
instead of men,
a license to surrender
and in surrendering, be.

I fumble with a tube of mascara,
blackening the elemental eye
with its translucent cliches.
I paint my lips cerise-
a crude and uninspired Bacchanalia-
my face flounders from sight.
I prefer puddles, to oceans laboriously deep,
cheap mondegreen cocktails
to bald-faced tonics.
I want to be loved
to feel my heart heaving
until all the blood has gone
from my body.
I chase silverfish
from a stack of old books
vetted like cadavers
I reach inside those weeping sheaths
rancid with misfortune
and pull with all my might.

For
https://mindlovemiserysmenagerie.wordpress.com/2016/06/13/wordle-113-june-13th-2016/
and
https://mindlovemiserysmenagerie.wordpress.com/2016/06/20/wordle-114-june-20th-2016/

15 responses to “Wordle #113 and #114

  1. Wonderful combination of the 2 wordles – each stanza is so powerful – elegant and yet walloping – and combined the 2 offer even greater effect. Well done Yves!

    I am particularly enthralled with the line about fingers steeped in elderberry wine – I just love the image this conjures in my mind …. and these 2 lines:
    I follow your gaze,
    the terrible lengths, the proverbial extractions

    and I’m like “whoa” – now that is one hell of a “look”!

  2. I’m thrilled to see you’re writing with regularity again.

    This is my favorite section:

    “I follow your gaze,
    the terrible lengths, the proverbial extractions
    and I wonder if I too possess
    a certain gravity,
    a gravity that incites shadows
    instead of men”

    That makes me wonder if “shadows” means eye-shadows, which suggests that you possess a gravity that pulls women into you more so than men, in which case, maybe you’re bored of your bacchanals because they consist of too many boys and not enough girls.

  3. This reminds me of the oldest section of the library where one needs white gloves to handle the pages.

    May we both find strength in knowing we have each other to witness our distress and share our joys. Thanks for two great wordle prompts.

Leave a Reply

