Writing Prompt #155 “Collage 21” and Wordle #244

Collage 21

You are the crooked smile of God
heavy as smoke, a phantom moon
carousing on the water’s surface.

Three pebbles plink in my pocket,
a word or a snare, a spool of light,
nameless in the gap of your teeth.

A sling, a bus, a length of rope fastened
if I were transparent, I would eat
of your flesh as a butterfly eats of death.

I am a book graphic and obscure.
A swing in the yard-shapes fill me-
the sky shrinks back, I lead nowhere.

I waited for you, on the park bench
until the sun fell drunkenly from her perch
what a mess she left, what a dream.

My heart cannot be exhausted,
love goes in and gathers momentum.
You can scar me but I am never diminished.

2441

15 responses to “Writing Prompt #155 “Collage 21” and Wordle #244

  1. I love the movement of the stream of consciousness in this poem. It goes from God – an expansive concept – to the moon in the sky and the lake. Then it zooms in on glimpses of specific objects: pebbles, the spool of light and the gap in the teeth; to the internal thoughts, ‘I would eat your flesh, …’ and to the drunken mess on the park bench and finally the emotional scars. The park bench seems to be a turning point, a kind of new beginning.

  2. I waited for you, on the park bench
    until the sun fell drunkenly from her perch
    what a mess she left, what a dream.

    Woot! (seriously, where did this come from?)

    This stanza has me gobsmacked. I love love love it! It is by far one of the best things I’ve read in quite some time. What an image!

    The entire piece is very interesting …. it’s a journey, really …. and works in exploration of the collage and the quote and the video too. It is sitting with me, as I just let it breathe. But I’m still stuck and reeling on that stanza …. wow! Totally awesome Yves 🙂

Leave a Reply

