Mag 308

atonement letter

A paranoid eclipse,
a lover once-removed
distance leads to obfuscation
to lies and apologies so subtle
they need not happen to warrant belief.

Love is a stowaway in a red mail box.
My lips blessing, beseeching, bestowing
charms for an unimpeded journey.
If I could I would crawl inside
but the words are too big for me.

I partake of you as faith
partakes of the incredulous
knowing that I shall never
be wholly satisfied,
knowing that if I were
to remake you
the iconography would not hold.
We are perfect precisely
because we are incomplete.

My heart could grow
no fonder for within you
are all the “ifs” I’ll ever need.

9 responses to “Mag 308

Leave a Reply

