Writing Prompt #149 “Collage 18” and Wordle #100

Collage 18

I prefer to stargaze with the shutters closed
the cobwebs are my constellations,
spiders the celestials I cynically beseech.
My birch-wood bones bow
under the weight of laudanum.
You always come from behind,
the tempestuous stain, the xenolith
invulnerable to consequence.

Their horrid faces find within
my suffering a communal panegyric,
a method of fraud unshakeable.
At times they even become me,
as if our yolk had been mixed.
I sit at the table, in the dark,
retracing their lustrous shapes.

I think I must have been
born in misery’s keep,
born to that great unpalatable silence
that is another man’s atrocity.
I climb the knoll behind your house
camera in hand, no one believes
that you exist, I never speak of you.

Week 100

21 responses to “Writing Prompt #149 “Collage 18” and Wordle #100

  1. Excellent use of the words Yves and the collage. I love both tasks as I never know where the images or words might take me. You’ve done a great job above and in composing the challenges.

  2. Outstanding Yves! Excellent combo of prompts – the imagery as dark and foreboding as the collage suggests, but brought or teased, rather, to an entire new level of perception, understanding and depths. Stellar!

    I prefer to stargaze with the shutters closed
    the cobwebs are my constellations,
    spiders the celestials I cynically beseech.

    I ADORE these opening lines ….. bloody fucking brilliant! (pardon my swearing, but I am totally blown away!)

  3. I prefer to stargaze with the shutters closed . . .I think I must have been
    born in misery’s keep — phenomenal opening and closing. And everything in between is brilliant.

  4. Goosebumps. Me, too. Both times… Your writing is so lush– full of wisps, bursts of texture and substance, and glimpses into the abyss that somehow resonate in tones, even though the kingdoms you explore will brook no sound.

    Peace
    Michael

  5. While I never had an imaginary friend that no one else could see… or a poltergeist even that others would not believe… this piece reminds me of that – just a tad bit like story ‘The Boy Who Cried Wolf’ – but in a very different adult, Steven King mystery type of way.

    Chills indeed. Brrr.

Leave a Reply

