Photo Challenge #102 March 1, 2016

Carnival

Sometimes I want to be
loved, abhorred, shamed,
at times I even surpass my resources.

I am best explored on canvas
in supple shades of red and atrophied coats of alabaster.
I am more mask than ghoul, more carnival, than epitaph.

What I have witnessed
the reduction, the deviance, the overdose
remains in my veins an inkling,
a suspicion of events that shall now and forever be.

I have met many ends but never my own,
a candle that startles without waning.
I am the anima, a mother of instincts
and deeply striated inhibitions.

I prefer my feelings raw,
the uncircumcised heart
suffocating within its own depths.

I undress in a crowded street
but beneath each veil another twice as thick.
Alone is not necessarily a virtue
for even then I am never quite myself.

16 responses to “Photo Challenge #102 March 1, 2016

  1. Wow! This is one mind-blowing piece Yves! Gripping, powerful, held spell bound from the first stanza in, a vortex of veils and layers, emotions taut as a high tension (electrical) wire – live!

    This piece literally crackles with images and emotions! So many amazing lines …. excellent evocation!

    Thanks for playing along with the photo challenge Yves 🙂

    Cheers ~ Pat

  2. Gorgeous piece, loved this :”I am best explored on canvas
    in supple shades of red and atrophied coats of alabaster.
    I am more mask than ghoul, more carnival, than epitaph.”

  3. Each stanza I held my breath holding on to the imagery…bravo, Yves, this is what lingers for me:
    I prefer my feelings raw,
    the uncircumcised heart
    suffocating within its own depths.

    I had not visited in a while…you write with your soul.

  4. I stand in awe, this is such a powerful poem Yves each stanza a flash of imagery … harsh yet moving like walking in a house with blue neon lights and strobes. I loved your conclusive stanza … it touched me particularly … hope all is well dear Yves.

Leave a Reply

