Wordle #99 “February 29, 2016”

Week 99

I watch you jettison all that is
stale and luxurious from your suitcase,
the ground beneath us contesting wildly.
The temerity of your smile,
the kinesthesia of knowing
that which by all accounts is beyond
the reach of our famished senses.
I hold fast to your infrequent smiles
they are poultices, agreeable junctions,
crescents over a salubrious sky.
You are strange and contagious,
you are more than I ever dared to be.

The sea shrieks, her arms unfurl
reaching for our vagueness
and insecurity, at times clutching
but never quite managing to hold on.
If I were a force of nature
I too would be a sea
my foaming white maw
gobbling up anyone and anything
without an anchor attached.

I thought I could love you,
I tried desperately
and more often than not succeeded.
No choice of my own making
can explain your absence,
and no choice subsequently made
will ever truly explain my own.
We used to unpack our baggage
and now I find myself ticket in hand
with two suitcases overflowing.
I could travel but it is too expensive
in my own house, a guest,
in my own house, a thief
and you a thousand miles away uninvited.

14 responses to “Wordle #99 “February 29, 2016”

  1. “You are strange and contagious” … What a kick-ass compliment!

    “The sea shrieks, her arms unfurl
    reaching for our vagueness” … Love.

    Our arms were meant to hug our own bodies, though. Thus the loneliness. We just don’t get that. We’re always reaching out for others when we should be handing ourselves, if you know what I mean. 🙂

    “No choice of my own making
    can explain your absence” … Just hook yourself up with some pigtails and dance, baby. Who cares if or when he comes back? When you truly don’t care, that’s when he’ll pop up, and not a second before. He won’t come for your need. He will come when you don’t have need anymore. Haven’t you ever noticed that every guy wants to dance with the girl who’s happiest dancing by herself?

    But really, this poem could be about all sorts of relationship. Estranged siblings or parent/child. Spouses. Even sleeping in the same bed, we’re “a thousand miles away” from one another, really.

    • Thank you so much 😄

      You have a point we are so disconnected from ourselves, always burying our emotions, treating ourselves as if we were substandard or unlovable, putting on masks/building walls and thus keeping love out

  2. Strange and contagious….great line…Intriguing poem !
    Can only guess qt what this is about…but that is one of the marvels of poetry:) Enjoyed !

  3. The sea shrieks, her arms unfurl
    reaching for our vagueness
    and insecurity, at times clutching
    but never quite managing to hold on.

    Those are my favorite lines… I imagine mermaids and even whales one moment frolicking and then next gasping for breath… to say nothing of those of us remaining on shore to watch when storm and sea meet…

    Another fine word list. One of these days I’m going to go back and make a vocabulary list of all the new words I’ve learned and attempt to remember from your wonderful wordles.

Leave a Reply

