Writing Prompt #147 “Collage 17” and Wordle #98

Collage 17

I remember you though the time for conversation has past,
I remember you though my heart has succumbed to scars
and to the false penitentiaries of a shiftless morass.

We do not meet anymore, your streets
are in the pockets of my flesh,
your streets are empty and filled with songs
too sad to be feckless and too wry to be clear.
At the mention of your name I laugh
until the laughter flows from my hollows
ugly and illogically vicious.
I have spent my entire life in captivity
decapitating bundles of lavender for Mr. Grimshaw,
their perfume staining my auxiliaries,
their perfume sleek and gutless in despair.

We were perfect for each other,
perfectly violent, perfectly repentant,
Your elocution betrays nothing.
I falter, a guest in stoic company.
Fingers twined, probabilities indignant.
I hold a box in my hands, overflowing
with our mishaps and superstitions.
Remember the garden? The gates crossed?
The flowers taken? Remember how once we felt
when once we had the audacity to feel?

Week 98

15 responses to “Writing Prompt #147 “Collage 17” and Wordle #98

  1. I’m loving the blend of emotions in all your recent poems. They are less abstract and can easily be connected. (However, I love your abstracts too. They have their different USP).

    “Remember how once we felt when once we had the audacity to feel?” This question can be really haunting for many people, including me. Beautifully Sad!

  2. Beautiful fully sad, indeed… and some great lines “remember how once we felt when once we had the audacity to feel” is brilliant

  3. The innocence of childhood… how can it be gone when it was never had in the first place. I like how you used the photos..I haven’t gotten to the wordle yet. Maybe tonight or tomorrow…

  4. Stunning Yves …. absolutely stunning ….. and I echo Nekneeraj’s thoughts ….. there is more “definition and less abstraction” in these last pieces ….. but the strength and beauty of the lines, the choice of words and phrases Yves ….. it is more than “brave” …. it resounds so clearly … while still leaving the mind room to imagine ….

    I could signal out specific lines …. but the second paragraph/stanza – wow – it’s brilliant – seriously…..

    great job!

  5. Or maybe conversations are just on hold while people go to the bathroom or get a snack or something. Is anything really, truly over? As long as we have memories, I don’t think so.

    I love these:
    “too sad to be feckless and too wry to be clear”
    “I have spent my entire life in captivity
    decapitating bundles of lavender”
    “We were perfect for each other,
    perfectly violent, perfectly repentant”
    “I falter, a guest in stoic company”
    “I hold a box in my hands, overflowing
    with our mishaps and superstitions.”

    Hey, I’m starting this word list prompt and thought you might want to join in:

    http://neoprimitivesynthesis.blogspot.com/2016/02/tuesdays-thistle-1.html

Leave a Reply

