Denouement

There’s nothing left but resonance,
the wafer-thin alliance of rejection
and habituation that inhibits denouement.
The sad realization that one is never
entirely without the other whatever the distance.

I loved her as the ocean loves the shore
wearing her mutinies into mere grievances,
ruining her wildness with my trance like tongue.
I never spoiled her without first damaging
the membranes between her dignity and my desire.
There is always someone willing
to resuscitate hate, old scars meticulously redrawn
year after year until one is either too numb
to acknowledge suffering or in too much pain
to comprehend anything other than its protraction.

She tugs at my tenements
my grey heart, my iron-fisted lungs.
She doubles as a spleen
when the sickness enters,
the last in a long line of useless moats.

She was terrible to me,
not just her kindness
but the scathing moments between.
She would have been happier
if I’d been a boy, a penis is mightier
than a pen and I’ve heard enough platitudes.

Loneliness is the only aphrodisiac
you’ll ever need; the desire to find
what is and ever will be irreplaceable.

17 responses to “Denouement

  1. Such a ghastly glow of diction; a flurry of light reality among darkness; a tunnel of misery coupled with sincerity of voice — I absolutely admire your writing.

  2. I loved her as the ocean loves the shore
    wearing her mutinies into mere grievances,
    ruining her wildness with my trance like tongue.

    Damn brilliant!

    There is such a whirlwind of intense emotions here – and exploration of the depths of love and all of its complexities …. definitely a probing exposé Yves.

  3. Amazing poetry.
    “Loneliness is the only aphrodisiac
    you’ll ever need; the desire to find
    what is and ever will be irreplaceable.”
    Above lines, a solid ending.

  4. Your writing is as strong and awesome as usual, but what I especially loved about this piece is the addressing towards a female. I love writing like that, so to say, opposite to my gender, and it is always a joy to see someone whose writing you admire do the same thing 🙂

Leave a Reply

