Wordle #238

240

What is the cost of those keys
which no man, not even
the possessor, may hold?

Love comes whenever it comes,
a threat, a room open of its own accord.
In the topmost eaves the doves
rustle between their vagrancies,
imperceptible whispers
needle-fine and threading
through epitaphs of winter.

I go on loving,
though the feature has closed.
Case in point you no longer accept my calls.
The place of resurrection
has become the case of my death,
a slow ambulatory suicide
that smells of spent matches and tarmac.

There are too many windows between us.
My rubber soles exalt the pavement,
a slithering cascade of half-furnished farewells.
Pride dangling, orifices caged, never again
doesn’t beget the same appetite as forever.

I just can’t stop sneezing which is making it very hard to write

7 responses to “Wordle #238

  1. “Bless you” … because even so you have written with a wonderful force …..

    a slow ambulatory suicide
    that smells of spent matches and tarmac.

    There are too many windows between us.
    My rubber soles exalt the pavement,

    and here I stand in the wind, watching the planes as they taxi around the runways (not literally) …. but figuratively…. I think it was the word “windows between us” ….

    such powerful phrases here …. and the ending ….

    …. never again
    doesn’t beget the same appetite as forever.

    truly gripping closing or ending …. but what an awesome way of expressing this … love the use of “beget” and appetite …..

    • Thank you so much Pat! Your comments are as gorgeous as ever! That was one of my favorite bits too. The ending actually came after some deliberation, I felt the wording was particularly important but I was having trouble deciding and so I am glad someone got where I was coming from

Leave a Reply

