Fortitude

Your plumage exalts me,

a frenzy of color and taboo.

I writhe in the wake of your designations,

in the subtle culpability of your smile

as it slips breathlessly beneath the horizon.

I have loved you all the days of my life

though we are strangers, even now.

I can taste your desire, your sutures

like pennies and hemlock.

Had I known the destructive force

that you would become I would have

given you more, died as is my want

with blood-chilling fortitude,

like a fire plucked from an intermittent spark.

The day exploits my sorrows,

the day expects things that I no longer provide.

The day has become my night

and my night is infinite though seldom silent.

My exhales perforate each moment

and what a terrible weight, each breath

drawn not of volition but from some

inexplicable need to survive.

I like to pretend that you are dead,

that my mourning is justified,

that my absences are meaningful.

I do not want you back,

only your memory can occupy

the rifts and endeavors of my brandished heart.

8 responses to “Fortitude

  1. Absolutely loved this one!
    Somehow, to me, it highlights the foolishness that adult life is full of. How can we want things that we DON’T want?

Leave a Reply

