Tale Weaver #51 – Footsteps

approaching footsteps

The mirror gnashes her ambidextrous teeth
whichever way I look, right or left,
I see a croon roaring up behind my eyes.
Perhaps I better track my footsteps instead
where I’ve been surely counts for more
than my fading youth. Vanity is such a tease
never at home in her own skin, always hungry,
never content but my bespattered boots
are weightless, visionaries, with soles
enough to compose and odysseys by the volume.

9 responses to “Tale Weaver #51 – Footsteps

  1. “The mirror gnashes her ambidextrous teeth” … What a fantastic opening line!!!

    So true:
    “Vanity is such a tease
    never at home in her own skin, always hungry,
    never content”

Leave a Reply

