Writing Prompt #144 “Collage 16″

Collage 16

Fissures wider than the smile
harnessed to disguise them.
The day we met I was
too fucked up to breathe
and that’s how I am
most of the time,
pretty as you please
but riddled with insecurity.

Coquettish confections
subdue the bitterness,
the experiences both
ruined and missed.
Pearls dipped in perfume,
a kindling of lingerie
preserving my nakedness
and if I were holy
you would be forever blessed.
“everything was beautiful
and nothing hurt.”

The perfect day,
the cool impostor
My journals piled and peeled
by the ravages of intimacy.
I have given you my secrets
even those I thought would endure.
A heart like crepe paper
kisses infectious, delivered
with the knowledge
that enough is rationed
to make way for what
really matters.

I promise to love you
long after the flowers
have soured, in the dark
of all these trivial conclusions.
Life is always harder
when the ego’s inflamed.
I promise to change
a fraction too late,
to be human only,
to make mistakes
that can’t be reconciled.

I promise to laugh
the loudest when
you’ve fallen into your ways.
I promise to wear my veil
to bed and nothing else
like everyone else does
no matter how honest
they are on the inside.
All I want is your nothings,
the casual is of your fitful desire.

Ran out of time!

23 responses to “Writing Prompt #144 “Collage 16″

  1. This reminds me how love can be like a virus. It’s beautiful. And Coquettish confections has such a unique, antique ring to it. Liked a lot! 🙂

  2. I think you have described ‘Love at first sight’ with a consenting couple!
    To be individuals as well as a pair, to be there…always and all ways.
    And not a veil in sight…very clear images. 🙂

  3. Wow, that is some beautiful poeming! Your imagery danced around in my mind while reading this… looks like the writer’s block is gone and your muse has returned in full force!

Leave a Reply

