What I must do

I ache for you in intervals

too narrow not to mention.

Goodbye is a void through

which I still and ever will pass.

There is no satisfying

what is essentially finite.

My feelings will outlast

my frame’s momentum,

such is love and such are we.

I’ll never stop hating

the humanity that judged me

underwhelming, the humanity

that rapes and ostracizes

whomever it deems

inconceivable.

Your promises have

the taste of almond

and of them I have eaten dutifully.

My demise can only be

undertaken never achieved.

For as long as I breathe

I have no recourse but to fight

and to love because

that is just what I must do.

13 responses to “What I must do

  1. Wow – I’ve just given a huge long exhalation.

    These first two stanzas Yves – are so powerful – really – concise – but the line breaks – perfect – the weight of the words – incredible. The third – it’s a slow trickle to closing – not as heavy or “strong” as the the beginning – but it works well – a slow resolution …. and I like it.

    Your promises have
    the taste of almond
    and of them I have eaten dutifully.

    What an incredible 3 lines …. adds a dimension so – there is no way to describe this – but I “see” “pale – almost like a geisha eating under a flowering almond tree” – anyhow ….

    This blows me away Yves – great write! 😀

Leave a Reply

