Photo Challenge # 97

poppy

Poppy by Liz West CC BY 2.0

I gorge myself on pollen and aesthetics,

our essentials wrapped and asphyxiated.

Within you exists the better part of me.

A poppy set to burst, a carnal euphemism

held underneath the tongue and deep within

the ribs like a ribbon of pure sunlight.

12 responses to “Photo Challenge # 97

  1. I remember the Poppy fields in the Movie ‘The Wonderful Wizard of Oz’ where Dorothy and her companions are compelled to sleep…
    And of my very first home which had gorgeous large red/orange poppies…’ like a ribbon of pure sunlight.’ – Yes!

  2. Oh my Gosh! I don’t know how I missed your comment in the link up Yves! (my brain must have gone into a black whole or something)

    thanks for sharing your response to the challenge 🙂

    You’ve definitely captured an essence of the beauty of poppies here – your short piece is as fleeting and ephemeral as the transience of a poppy – yet the memories always linger – they captivate the senses, in all ways Yves 🙂

    Cheers~ Pat

Leave a Reply

