Mag 302

mirror 3

Your eyes are impassible

a bridge over which

my infinite nothings pass.

The oil in your veins

ignites within my hesitations.

However I turn it, it is always

your back facing.

We are the same you and I,

a collusion of venom and wine.

Do not undertake me lightly.

Hold the mirror higher

let it extract within your depths

my approximations.

The moon languishes behind

a flimsy bandage, a blister

against our perfect blackness.

Flat and nostalgic

I detest you pretty girl.

19 responses to “Mag 302

  1. “Do not undertake me lightly.” Oh wow. That’s really powerful and smart writing.

    Love the ending too:
    “Flat and nostalgic
    I detest you pretty girl.”

  2. I like this very much. However, there is a comma misplacement in the second stanza that irks me, which I hope you don’t mind me pointing out. It’s the one after ‘However’. The line should read ‘However I turn it, it is always your back facing.’

  3. Wow! Breathless. And Speechless!

    this is one almighty powerfully written and eloquent – and elegant poem Yves!

    Incredible!
    (adding this to one of my faves)

Leave a Reply

