Mag 296

1 Joachim Bueckelaer 1560

Joachim Buecklaer, 1560

I went to the market today,

Gathering a feast for the week’s apologies.

I am not wrong, I have always been civil,

Poised even when tempered under your misogynistic boot.

I held my breath waiting for you to come home.

I held my breath until the brume of my misplaced tears

Summoned the four walls around me like a bodice.

You were drunk and curd-faced on arrival.

I forgave you the lack of conversation.

I forgave your piss-soaked trousers and slovenly dress.

I forgave your irascible humor and ingratitude.

I even forgave myself the arsenic employed

to rid me of your pestilence.

16 responses to “Mag 296

  1. Oh what delicious lines! Seriously. Compact and tangible …. words to be held in the hands and cradled … as they rock in their own life!
    “Gathering a feast for the week’s apologies.”

    “I held my breath until the brume of my misplaced tears
    Summoned the four walls around me like a bodice.”

    What beauty in such pain and terror.

    This so has struck a very deep and resonant chord with me Yves!

    You rock it! 😀

Leave a Reply

