Photo Challenge # 88 and Wordle #226

Nelson L Shadow

Nelson L “shadows will always follow us” CC BY 2.0

An unholy tide drifts

Through avenues of mist and flesh.

Wherever the abyss falls

I am certain to pass,

Hidden in the grooves

Of an elongated muse.

I cannot divine her words,

For my shadow’s voice

Elicits no sound.

An apothecary of light

And mediocre illusion

We are only just beginning.

My secrets untouched

I might be perfect in the eyes

Of a man who adores me

But I will never be tame.

She, on the hand, follows me

Quick as I please

Through barriers biased.

226

27 responses to “Photo Challenge # 88 and Wordle #226

  1. Wow!

    You’ve left me speechless! What a brilliant and so incredibly amazing poem Yves! 😀

    You never cease to amaze me – seriously.

    Three stanzas – each so powerfully evocative – holding their own – yet falling into a complicity with the next – it is perhaps simply enough worded that it all makes such intense sense – and is hauntingly beautiful.

    Great combination of photo response and wordle! Smashing.

    thanks for playing along 🙂

    Cheers ~ Pat

      • thanks Yves …. it’s interesting what I’m coming across in my searches …. some really amazing works out there … covering a full spectrum!

      • nope …. whatever ‘digital’ images I have are mostly from when I was working …. plants and flowers and stuff … taken with a “point and shoot” small digital camera … which after well over 1000+ shots …. has moved on to greener pastures …. so I am without camera ….

      • true … very true …. and the camera captures more than the eye sees …. so surprises abound …. but who knows … maybe in the near future I might get a new camera ….

      • of course …. I’m living in the “bush” … trees more trees and more trees …. and its rare I venture into the big city … so honestly…. LOL … how bored would we be? 😉

      • LOL ….well …. no problems there …. trees liked to be thanked … they are most gracious and graceful in all they provide …. 😀

  2. Love these:

    “drifts Through avenues of mist and flesh”
    “Hidden in the grooves” (this speaks music to me)
    “She, on the [other] hand, follows me Quick as I please Through barriers bi-as(s)ed.”

    I love this poem about your relationship with your own shadow. Badass, chica. Very clever! You know, you may me wish I had time to write. I wrote one the other day, and it took me just about the whole day (coming back and forth) to get it just right.

  3. An apothecary of light

    And mediocre illusion

    We are only just beginning. – I loved this part, for some reason it makes me feel like it could be a perfect chorus for a song.

Leave a Reply

