Glass House

6

I dance this path

Of fire with you

Blackened

By the failings

Of an incurable youth

*

Though the heart

Is pliant

My bones do not

Forgive trespass

An unmade bed

Would betray

My animal instincts

So we lie

Captive in the rage

Of a muzzled spine

*

From your sharpened tongue

I gather defect

These excuses

Like bread crumbs

Drive me back

To this house

Of dangerous angles

This one is 5 years old and from the catacombs of my blog. I am preparing poems for submission to The Newyorker at the moment =)

 

21 responses to “Glass House

  1. Wonderful news that you’re submitting. Your poetry is like a fingerprint; undeniably yours, and totally unique.

  2. Wishing you all the best, Candice. 🙂 I’m also compiling my haiku for publication in my country. 🙂

    The first stanza is powerful and poignant, at the same time beautiful. Somehow, it resonates with me. 🙂

  3. interesting to read something from 5 years ago – fascinating to glimpse the stylistic history of your writing. 🙂

    And yes … as many have said …. wishing you all of the luck and possibilities in your efforts and creative endeavours Yves! We rally and cheer you on 😀

  4. Excellent poem and poetic imaginary which I believe could be to time but also to certain kind of harming relationships, somehow.. walking on egg shells, maybe…
    The second stanza speaks out loud…Sending best wishes. Aquilina 🐉☀️

Leave a Reply

