Wordle #225 and Photo Challenge #87

richardloader

image by Richard Loader

My silent hands brim over,

For all the tears captured

Many more topple without mention.

Seven dishes left to freeze

In the wake of your uproarious laughter.

An evening planned in detail,

A delusion governed by poor choices.

I scramble to my feet

Chair scraping the floor.

A nameless bird pecks,

At my soul’s shuttered windows.

Never again shall I succumb to thee.

I’ll return to the eaves from which I came,

To the grey lady and her impeccable waste.

In a shack I’ll spend my days,

A menagerie of hearts gone astray.

How did I ever manage to love you?

All those dirty looks

And impassive sneers.

I should have known.

I knew but chose not to.

Destiny, it seems, cannot be

Shaken and a man can be worth

Only as much as he, himself, determines.

225

Meeting with the unemployment office today!

 

37 responses to “Wordle #225 and Photo Challenge #87

  1. Seven dishes left to freeze
    In the wake of your uproarious laughter.
    An evening planned in detail,
    A delusion governed by poor choices.

    A nameless bird pecks,
    At my soul’s shuttered windows.

    I’ll return to the eaves from which I came,

    Right right right …. If I continue … I’ll have reprinted this wonderfully penned and composed (although perhaps composed in less than a composed fashion?) piece.

    These lines and images Yves (pardon the fact that I picked on the play of words here) are brilliant – so powerful and evocative; the atmosphere you have created – really picks up on the “grey ambiance” – of the photo image.

    I think this is an amazing response Yves – thanks for sharing 🙂

    Cheers ~ Pat

  2. The last line is indeed true but the image that stuck with me was the ‘seven dishes left to freeze’..i wonder what the man (or other in a relationship) might be without someone taking care of them…

  3. This is amazing! I read it as being about a woman who loved someone she shouldn’t have, but then he died. So she’s struggling through all the confusion of having lost him, but then knowing she never should have loved him in the first place. I love the “seven dishes,” which makes me think of friends and family bringing over meals during your time of grieving. But then, maybe he was abusive or cheated, and they don’t know. So I think you’re in all this internal misery that no one else is even aware of. They think you’re just grieving in the normal way.

    Again, your opening lines are always the BEST!

    • Generally during funerals people do not speak ill of the dead. I remember at my grandfather’s funeral while the preacher was giving their usual positive spiel people were actively arguing. He wasn’t a good man, he was an asshole, a child molester, all those years of pent up anger came rolling out, I felt bad for my grandmother though I am not sure how she felt about it

  4. Wow I! Again so beautifully done. I love how you set up an ordinary home with a very caring partner freezing seven casseroles (my choice in my imagination). She seems so determined and it feels like it was a decision not taken suddenly. There’s history here. I really enjoyed it, Yves:)

  5. ‘Destiny, it seems, cannot be
    Shaken and a man can be worth
    Only as much as he, himself, determines.’

    These lines caught me this go round. I think because of all of the political rhetoric going around. Each candidate believing they are the best and yet… it will be the public (that hopefully stays informed) that will determine an acceptable winner. Some how though, I don’t think any of the politicians are eating frozen casseroles 😉

Leave a Reply

