Ennui

My pain is my pain

It cannot be overtaken

And though your words suggest

That it has no merit

I cannot rid myself

Of this ennui.

My openings are encumbered

And even in speaking

I am not saved.

It is inevitable that I am broken,

Nothing else makes sense.

As a child I was content

To be others, to pretend

As an adult I am unable

To maintain such pretenses.

I keep running into myself

Within others and it is she

That rejects me whilst

They pass unknowingly

12 responses to “Ennui

  1. Oh my this is beautiful and raw with emotion. I wish I could draw and paint…no no, not just take lessons but have a natural gift like my daughter and my aunt…and words, haiku especially are the only paint brushes I could manage. You keep running into yourself, is a powerful line, what an amazing line for a prompt!!!

  2. I keep running into myself
    Within others and it is she
    That rejects me whilst
    They pass unknowingly

    Incredible …. just so incredible Yves …. raw and poignant – and I suggest rather universal for many.

Leave a Reply

