Collage 10

Bottom Left: Rossatty

It wasn’t my heart that was confused

But the stars themselves

Queer and dead what hope

Was there that our love would flourish?

We used to take the Ferris Wheel

In place of the stairs,

Riding high on the morphic sheen

Of our subliminal expectations.

We used to fashion satellites of paper

Letting them drift, aimless

From our open palms to the floor.

Do you remember the rocks

At the bottom of our fish tank?

The contracts and confabulations

That we used to crack open our bones

That we could drink from

The marrow of our being?

I remember tearing

Your still frantic body

From the gutter where it lay

Adjusting to the cataclysm

Of an ill-acquired wish.

I remember but it would be,

Better surely, if I could forget.

A quick write today. My birthday is today so I will likely be busy and unavailable a good portion of the day.

33 thoughts on “Writing Prompt #132 “Collage 10″

  1. “How old would you be if you didn’t know how old you are?” Satchel Paige

    “The way I see it, you should live everyday like its your birthday.” Paris Hilton 🙂

  2. Even a quick write is stunning as usual, Yves. Happy Birthday and may you have a healthy and fun year ahead. My son turned 37 November 7th. I bet you could be my daughter too:) Blessings xx

  3. That which we try to save; does not always want saving.
    Yet when it is in our nature to nurture; nurture we must.

    Reminds me of the line;
    Be careful what you wish for.

    Hope you had a wonderful calm birthday!

  4. I hope you enjoyed your birthday. I want to thank you for continuing to read and support my blog, though I’ve not been doing much reading of others lately as I have limited internet time/connectivity where I live at the mo. I really enjoyed this piece, very moving, and some lovely images…I enjoyed the idea of taking the ‘ferris wheel in place of the stairs’. Blessings, H x

Leave a comment