Nimbi

The human heart holds the capacity

To embellish all modicums of being.

Angel, monster, what a terror you are

Always looking into my closeted spaces

Always tasting, always thinking.

My god, how I love you

And with such compelling stupidity.

I thought surely that much would penetrate

Only it never has for you hold so firmly to your hatred

That no other opinion can be considered.

You misunderstand me when you assign motives

To what are merely gestures of affection.

How is it that motives are permissible in court?

Milky hypotheses that add little more than grief,

There is nothing typical about my contents.

The heart softens under fire,

Like a candle,

Primitive filaments

Reshape themselves each night

Only to turn brittle on cooling.

When I express myself,

It will not be done with mediocrity.

There can be no excuse

So encompassing that it could

Explain justly my actions.

Sometimes there’s no reason,

Sometimes feelings arise spontaneously

Ramifying nimbi, watermarks

Semi-transparent stains devaluing,

The objects they are designed to secure.

having a rough time with Depression right now

11 responses to “Nimbi

    • I seem to be in every conceivable mood at the same time, I am a mess of emotions. Sobbing hysterically, laughing hysterically, pissed off, and anytime I hear anything sad I just start crying. It’s like I am pregnant again except I am not

  1. Sending you hugs Yves
    xxx

    This is a really straightforward and yet slightly complex piece – with meanings and implications to consider – as providing by your brilliant and delightful lines and stanzas –

    My god, how I love you
    And with such compelling stupidity. – so blunt and to the point – harsh but truthful –

    How is it that motives are permissible in court?
    Milky hypotheses that add little more than grief, – holy hell – what a pairing – and the image “milky hypotheses” – now that is totally brilliant in context!

    The heart softens under fire,
    Like a candle,
    Primitive filaments
    Reshape themselves each night
    Only to turn brittle on cooling. – just a completely incredible metaphor and image – and serves the deeper understanding of self and human relationships and behaviours.

    Although you are “all over the place” in body, spirit and mind – you have still “listened” to the voice that speaks within you – creating a very great poem Yves 🙂

Leave a Reply

