Photo Challenge #85 and Wordle #223

Decompose

“Decompose” by zaldy icaonapo

My name feels too small

Though I have bled for the right to wield it

And would bleed again if passion warranted.

The only voice that could indoctrinate me

Is the one that rages in my unspoken depths.

Though the wind bids me otherwise

I remain inflexible, willing to compromise

Only when I have determined the stakes.

I toss your weeping body into the fire

Words dissipating into a dusty blue,

Heart a vessel for skipping stones.

However apt, a wish cannot save

The veins from their rapacious thirst.

I search for happiness but it does not search for me.

Whatever the cage, love always manages to sneak through

Whether in or out it is impossible to determine.

I have seen the decay beneath the prism of your smile.

I have tasted death prematurely and wherever the ides settle

I am certain to have been indignant to their passage.

How we waste, decomposing and autumnal

In the mist of such wondrous brevity.

Time never applies in the pursuit of ecstasy

Only in the pursuit of applause

So take what you need and get on with it.

223

Don’t feel I did justice to these gorgeous prompts. I am suffering from Zombie Brain. I have had a really hard time falling asleep lately with all the chaos. When I finally did manage to fall asleep last night, it was very deep but I don’t exactly seem to be waking up lol

15 responses to “Photo Challenge #85 and Wordle #223

  1. I think you did fine poetic justice to these words – so many lines resonated and sang…take the applause from this reader at least..it is much deserved

  2. Hello – calling all Zombie Brains to the spotlight 😉

    Even if you don’t think you have done the prompts justice – I beg to differ.

    As per your talents and gifts – you have fashioned such a full-blown and deeply personal piece that can resonate on a universal level.

    My name feels too small
    Though I have bled for the right to wield it
    And would bleed again if passion warranted.

    Words dissipating into a dusty blue,

    However apt, a wish cannot save
    The veins from their rapacious thirst.

    I have tasted death prematurely and wherever the ides settle
    I am certain to have been indignant to their passage.

    How we waste, decomposing and autumnal
    In the mist of such wondrous brevity.
    Time never applies in the pursuit of ecstasy
    Only in the pursuit of applause

    Right – I could have just as easily copied the entire poem – but these are exceptional lines and stanzas in my humble opinion.

    And the final stanza – I’m not entirely sure you even need the last line – but it does contribute something – so it works, at least, for me, both ways – but I prefer it without.

    That final stanza – an absolute Truth – one so many of us simply don’t realize or accept -which is where the final line “So take what you need and get on with it.” – packs that punch – the finality of it.

    Searching for applause – yes – but for some – simply the audience to be heard – is enough.

    Great job Yves – and thanks for responding to the photo prompt 🙂

  3. You know, I wonder if you ever get tyred of just seeing me write you the same comment over and over again and giving same praise, but I just loved the poem. There is amazing imagery there that is so vivid and captivating and you usualy , like here, do it from the very first line. I really loved this part also:”I toss your weeping body into the fire

    Words dissipating into a dusty blue,

    Heart a vessel for skipping stones.

    However apt, a wish cannot save

    The veins from their rapacious thirst.”

  4. “love always manages to sneak through
    Whether in or out it is impossible to determine.”

    This strikes a cord with me now. Since I do have so much love to give, but well at least one person I expect love from in return seems so stingy with it….

    To determine the truth of love – is that necessary? It is though, those false bits of attempted understanding that try to bribe the soul of reality.

    I think you did just fine.

    That is a funny bit about ‘Monopoly’. We played the game with modified house rules. But my Hubby would have no part of that – the rules where there for a purpose! 🙂

Leave a Reply

