Wordle #85 and Writing Prompt #131 “NoEnd House Part 9″

Week 85

I drown in a mutilating plexus,

My ungainly migration hardly

Worth mention but essential if

I am to escape the water

Welling up inside.

I am neither penitent nor nonchalant.

What happens within, stays within.

The kelp gathers in phases

First my ankles than finally

My nickle-plaited heart,

At which point I am scarcely worth

The illusion of saving.

We had a good thing going

Cagestruck and mollycoddled

We wept and wandered shamelessly

Through unwelcoming streets,

Two perfect zeros in a city of primes.

The melanin has gone from your eyes

And the fire from your once implacable tongue

Has found a disparaging farce in silence.

Fiercely stroking your embers I wonder

How did it every come to this?

Your tiny submersible heart clicking

Like a clutch of unattended chickens.

Tonight is a night of firsts, a night of deaths,

A night of seams torn and scars cast.

Whose pain can be quantified

And whose is beyond measure?

Cagestruck- to be clueless of the customs, dialect, and haunts of an unfamiliar city

For

https://mindlovemiserysmenagerie.wordpress.com/2015/11/01/writing-prompt-131-noend-house-part-9%E2%80%B3/

And

https://mindlovemiserysmenagerie.wordpress.com/2015/11/02/wordle-85-november-2-2015/

21 responses to “Wordle #85 and Writing Prompt #131 “NoEnd House Part 9″

  1. Some relationships are very much like that. But we have to adapt and adjust to those things around us that lift us up and bring us calm.
    One can take your words out of the streets of a city and put them in dysfunctional families. We have to let go of those people who will not help or want us to rise above.

    We need to clean that emotional room and expunge all that doesn’t work and then rebuild it with all the love that we can garner and live.

  2. This is hilarious:
    “Fiercely stroking your embers I wonder
    How did it every come to this?” … If you’re being sexual. 🙂

    Also this:
    “Your tiny submersible heart clicking
    Like a clutch of unattended chickens.” … Funny, I mean. Not sexual.

    So many stories are possible here. But what guides me is the fact that “Plexus” is apparently some sort of diet drink; also, the definition for “mollycoddled” mentions children. So to me, this is about siblings. I imagine them being close in age, perhaps twins. And maybe they’re grown up now. Maybe they’re Hansel and Gretel. Maybe one of the siblings has died or has become addicted to drugs or something, in such a way that the other sibling feels left alone.

    Maybe the kids grew up poor or neglected or homeless, after being “mollycoddled.” What if their parents died? What if some awful tragedy left their lives in shambles, completely different than they were before the painful, life-altering event.

    Maybe the speaker’s sibling drowned as a child; maybe it was in some way the speaker’s fault. Maybe he/she feels a drowning now because of the memories and guilt.

    I can obviously imagine numerous stories in this, which is what excites me about abstract poetry.

    I love these lines/sections:

    “What happens within, stays within.”
    “The kelp gathers in phases”
    “I am scarcely worth / The illusion of saving.”
    “Two perfect zeros in a city of primes”
    “Whose pain can be quantified / And whose is beyond measure?”

    I wonder if the tiny heart means you’re talking to a child. I love that the vague pronouns (we, you) make more interpretations possible. Maybe the one you’re talking to is included in the “we,” but maybe not.

    The tiny heart could also suggest that the person you’re talking to isn’t very emotional or connected to people, maybe somewhat insensitive.

    Anyway, I had lots of imaginative fun with this one. Thanks!

    • I knew you would find that bit amusing, actually after I wrote it I found myself smiling thinking of your reaction lol

      A diet drink now there is a clever idea! Lots of amazing interpretations here and some heart-rending ones as well! My pronouns are particularly vague I have never really had a firm grasp on them, though people doesn’t always relish my confusion lol

  3. I am neither penitent nor nonchalant.
    What happens within, stays within.

    Love these lines – so forthright. 🙂

    “My nickle-plaited heart,”

    This line makes me think of a heart braided in some form and fashion – with organic fibers, perhaps kelp in this “watery submersible” 😉

    And was “plaited” deliberate? just wondering …

    Your tiny submersible heart clicking
    Like a clutch of unattended chickens.
    Tonight is a night of firsts, a night of deaths,
    A night of seams torn and scars cast.
    Whose pain can be quantified
    And whose is beyond measure?

    Yves – what a WHOPPER of an ending! Absolutely brilliant and stunning in the feelings it evokes in me. All the lines – perfectly timed out – the metaphors conjured superb – the finality – so incredible.

    “Cagestruck” — awesome word. Such hefty implications.

    I think this is such a fascinating piece – leaves me feeling the heaviness of relationships that have morphed and changed, naturally as they are apt, over time – but somehow, this feels like a “battleground”

    Great use of the wordle Yves 🙂

    • Wow thank you Pat and I love the imagery of the heart braided with seaweed. I actually do think I meant the other plated you know even after you said it I could not find the word anywhere but having a heart plaited with nickle is also a nice image lol

      • Yup – I really think that either way – it works – the plating or plaiting …. so … as it is 🙂

Leave a Reply

