Poetry Prompt 14 – Between Yesterday and Tomorrow

Clouds drape my faculties,

In my heart, the thunder wails,

A specter of my beloved.

The muse exists

Irrespective of conditionals

But at times I do not comply.

Sorrow pulls apart

My intricate skeins.

All that I have sought,

Caught and digested

Washes out with the deluge.

My poems are but the scraps

Of a brutal sentry, whatever

I write is true within

The merits of my imagination

But who am I to choose

And by what means

Shall I delegate?

My pockets are empty

But my mouth is full.

Fools are always willing

Occupants in conversation.

I am wise only when I sleep

For only then have I

The silence to contemplate

My self-treasonous reforms.

I am not inclined to judge

For what can I understand

Of you when I am solidly

Bound to the perimeters

Of my own ego. You have

Your reasons and so it always is

But do I really cease

In your existential beginnings?

We are all clues in the same

Impenetrable riddle.

I am neither truncheon nor mollusk.

I am the memory of all your

Former and future afflictions.

OctPoWriMo

7 responses to “Poetry Prompt 14 – Between Yesterday and Tomorrow

  1. As always, I’m WOWed, Yves. And particularly taken by the notion that we are all clues in the same riddle–this will have me going all night, wowee-zowee….

  2. My poems are but the scraps
    Of a brutal sentry, whatever
    I write is true within
    The merits of my imagination

    Delightful …. I can see a watchtower ….

    My pockets are empty
    But my mouth is full.
    Fools are always willing
    Occupants in conversation.

    Love the play on “full and fools” … and what truth is this? Indeed – observant.

    Another wonderful poem Yves – interesting and my, how you make for addictive reading 😀

Leave a Reply

