Do you believe in magic?

I wash my hands in your lingering perfume,

In the warmth of your dwindling substance.

We are children of paradigms,

Of monsters branded and manifest.

We are angels with dragon’s breath.

My bones have taken to defense,

To occlusions of heart and ideology.

You must know my love

Is never comparable to hate

That the line is distinct and permeable

Only in moments of distress.

My wars, my vast terrible wars

Are only ever intended

As a holocaust of one, myself.

Immobility hurts more than animation.

Silence is by far the most devastating voice.

No, no we are not dead, not yet, not ever

For the universe has more hearts than we could ever know.

Eyes levitating in the dark, phantasms, romantics

They are watching pedestaled and quintessential

They have heard our wishes and consented, at last.

OctPoWriMo

I got started late on the challenge but nonetheless I am going to take it as a far as I can

20 responses to “Do you believe in magic?

  1. I’m picturing the speaker talking to God. This is just one-half of the conversation; I love reading it this way. It’s a prayer, but just a tumbling out of earnest, pained emotions.

  2. This has a bit more of a classical feel to me.

    We are angels with dragon breath – ha, love that line. It captures our contrasts for sure. And your feelings come through clean on this.

  3. To me, this is the most powerful section:
    “My wars, my vast terrible wars
    Are only ever intended
    As a holocaust of one, myself.
    Immobility hurts more than animation.
    Silence is by far the most devastating voice.
    No, no we are not dead, not yet, not ever”

    How could he not fall right back into your arms after reading this beautiful poem and heartfelt plea? You are obviously very in love with one another and should be together forever.

    “Eyes levitating in the dark, phantasms, romantics
    They are watching pedestaled and quintessential
    They have heard our wishes and consented, at last.”

    And there you go: the gods must have blessed your union. It’s obviously meant to be for you two.

  4. Silence is by far the most devastating voice–You got that right, Yves. It is hideous, deforms the fragile growing soul/spirit/mind/heart (and body, perhaps).

Leave a Reply

