At Least

Carbon Noise Poetry

I fall away drop by drop

As a statue of wax

In a gaze too explicit.

Love is not given without proof

Proof of worth, of loyalty

Of arbitrary condition.

A lifetime of proving

And so very little sustained.

What does it matter

That I am ordinary

That my poems are indelicate

And fall half-undressed

Across contrasting sheets?

What does it matter

That I forget your name

And your face, which isn’t

Half as extraordinary

As the smile it effects?

I remember your heart

As psychedelic as it is,

With such terrible affection.

Or is it affliction?

There is but so much,

Why is it I always find more?

A step taken with contused knees,

A step taken with bloodied palms

And I think at least love exists.

OctPoWriMo

View original post

9 responses to “At Least

  1. I love you.

    I have to take my daughter to the doctor, but I look forward to giving you thorough comments on your last couple of poems. I’m so glad you’re doing this prompt. I was doing it, but then I decided to quit. But if you’re going to do it, then maybe I’ll go back to it.

    I hope you have a great day, sweetie. 🙂

  2. So much of riches in this–I’m “grooving on” “psychedelic heart”. I also love the opening 3 lines; and “that my poems are indelicate…sheets?” portion. WOW.

  3. Love does exist.

    As maddening as it may be. I am leary of love at times, because it can seem so fickle. At times melting us, and others…well. But love is certainly magic.

  4. That my poems are indelicate
    And fall half-undressed
    Across contrasting sheets?

    I remember your heart
    As psychedelic as it is,
    With such terrible affection.
    Or is it affliction?
    There is but so much,
    Why is it I always find more?

    Generally there is an easiness in reading and understanding the deepest sentiments being expressed here — some absolutely stunning lines which drawn the feelings so clearly …. really amazing write Yves 🙂

Leave a Reply

