Witch Way

Does God really favor the lost?

Which way?

The way of stars shorn and cast away,

The way of lovers and revenge.

She hurts him as one steps on a shadow

Without knowing, in a state of sorrow

That renders her mad.

Her hesitations surrender to futility.

A choice between one death and another

One painless if not for satellites

One inescapable given the volume

Of her desires. Her music has a density

That crushes all who come near

Should she die others will follow.

She settles into a bed of wallpaper

Expectant but noncommittal.

Bone shavings cling to

Her unsteady vowels.

She writes sad poems

To an audience

That has substituted is for if,

To a world of anonymous doors

And falsely named occupants.

She exists within us all

Unfindable but never lost.

16 responses to “Witch Way

  1. This is AWESOME!!!

    It reminds me of a scene in one of my favorite movies of all time (Practical Magic), in which one of the aunts says to the makeshift coven, “There’s a little witch in us all.”

    I love this:
    “She hurts him as one steps on a shadow
    Without knowing, in a state of sorrow
    That renders her mad.” … But don’t believe everything you see on T.V. There are probably scenes that have been edited out of the show you get to watch. Maybe the hurting is imaginary, and he knows she’s just goofing off with him. What if he too is a w/itch? Sometimes what looks like a vowel is really a con/sonant. You just never can tell with those witchy folk. 😉 Something tells me that these two speak the same language and stir the same cauldron; in fact, they’re probably even holding the spoon together. Four hands are better than two, you know.

    These are my other favorites:
    “One inescapable given the volume
    Of her desires. Her music has a den/sity” … Nice “Daniel in the lions’ den” reference. Thank goodness the angel is there to hold their mouths shut and protect Daniel from all those growls and teeth.

    “She settles into a bed of wallpaper” … I love “The Yellow Wallpaper.” And I really liked your play on words with “noncommittal,” meaning that she’s locked up in a crazy room, but she’s not been committed to an asylum. Just her own bedroom, maybe.

    Love love love this: “Bone shavings cling to Her unsteady vowels.” Anything steady gets boring, you know. Gotta keep things interesting and unpredictable.

    Hey, you just showed me that “audience” equals “awww, die ants” or “awe the I dance.” Thanks! 😉

    Love: “That has substituted is for if” … That “is” is pretty lovable. “If” … not so much.

    Slammin’ ending.

    You are SUCH a fantastic poet.

    • I don’t think I have seen that film before is it something children can also watch?

      I love the Yellow Wallpaper and I absolutely love how you understood that and all your other insanely brilliant interpretations. Oh wow thank you so much for that you leave such fantastic comments, a highlight for me!

  2. Oh, P.S. I love that she’s sleeping while standing up against the wall. Or maybe she just has her back pressed against the wallpaper while she and the he-witch are doing “bed” activities. 😉

  3. She exists within us all/Unfindable but never lost.
    A mere nine words used to describe a lifetime.
    May I reblog this? There is much resonance.

  4. Reblogged this on Phylor's Blog and commented:
    Mindlovemisery presents another piece of powerful poetry. In nine words, she traces my lifetime: She exists within us all/Unfindable but never lost.

    Nine words traces my life time: She exists within us all/Unfindable but never lost.

  5. UNfindable but never lost.

    Nice tie back to the first line, does god favor the lost. So she exists outside of gods favor.

    I really like that last true stanza. In a bed of wallpaper, which is used to cover up. Among the bone chips, remnants of past. So rich with little inuendos.

  6. Which way?
    The way of stars shorn and cast away,

    One inescapable given the volume
    Of her desires. Her music has a density
    That crushes all who come near
    Should she die others will follow.

    She settles into a bed of wallpaper
    Expectant but noncommittal.

    She exists within us all
    Unfindable but never lost.

    Some very brilliant lines and fragments that truly contribute to the “whole” /”hole”.

    There is a darkness within this that also somehow speaks of light shining in flowing arcs – grace searching for which/witch one?

    Expectancy = always disastrous but the “chip” of bones shaved in the name of hope.

    Noncommittal – yet committed to the process – the darkness – the light – the other – or nothing at all ….

    Existence hidden but felt – as tangible and palpable as skin and flesh, hands outstretched to light, in observation with clinical detachment.

    A very interesting and multi-layered metaphorical piece – rich in imagery – that once again – has unfolded in cinematic fashion before my eyes.

    Great job Yves!

    • Oh wow you know your comments are poetry and I love that you think about what you’ve read, that you let it in, that is such a huge compliment. You read poetry in an extraordinary way, you are so awake.

      • Wow – thank you for the most generous comment and compliment …. I hadn’t considered myself anything but rather mundane in verse reading – especially when faced with poems that offer so much more than simple surface value – not that there is anything wrong with this type of writing. I simply try to offer something that has moved me – allowing an interpretation of what the essence has offered to me – without, hopefully, offending the author/poet. 🙂

      • Well I think you are exceptional and I can’t begin to express how much it means to me or how much I look forward to receiving your comments. I am not so great at commenting because in order for me to be coherent I have to write a poem, I am bollocks at talking (excluding speeches/monologues) lol

Leave a Reply

