Wordle #112

112

Thunder spills through

Your shimmering steps.

A sodden yard,

A park at rest,

Jets of rain douse

Curbs and streets

In motley mirrors.

Status has no significance

When cloaked in weather.

We all spew the same

Inconsequential drivel

In our rush for temperance.

Page after page, our lives

Simultaneously up in flames

Such a simple thing rain

The difference between

Life and death and still

We detest that which makes

Of us a flawless mess.

During my rest break at school I like to take walks along the canal. The area is quite beautiful and historic. The ducks usually cheer me up when I am caught up in my own gloom. I love the way they just waddle right up, give you the once over, quack a bit, and waddle off again when you don’t have any food. Sometimes they don’t even bother waddling off they just turn around. Yesterday it was raining but I had my walk anyways even though it meant going back to class all soggy. Today I didn’t go to school. I wrote about it on Curious Flowers, my health issues, and on top of that I am experiencing some very weepy Depression.

27 responses to “Wordle #112

  1. Beautiful poem, but I am so sorry to hear about your depression. Today I got a reprieve from mine, am praying it takes me through the end of the year at least. I don’t know if it would make you feel better or worse, but I’m inviting you to my birthday party (9/26) which starts in about a half hour, goes all weekend. It’s cyber, so the food is all calorie-free–hope you can come, even for a few minutes. Wishing you the BEST, J (the old Val, yet another new name/blog–same poetry)

    • Thank you Val for your gorgeous words and I am happy to hear you are feeling better today and hope that today marks a turning point and that many more beautiful days come to you. Ooooh guilt free chocolate! Have a beautiful day!

      • As always, I pray only good days for you. While it’s fine that our pain/struggles are grist for the poetry mill–when they drag on and on for seemingly endless seasons….oh, it’s hard, as you know. I’m so glad we’re back in touch–surely that helps us both!

      • The physical pain I am in now is really pushing my limits, I have been in pain since last Saturday so for a week at a very high level. I just want to claw out of my body at this point. It absolutely does and I am glad for it as well =)

      • Oh Wow–yes, physical pain just makes all the rest worse; I have chronic pain issues–some days are less severe than others. So I empathize with you, and will be praying specifically for relief and healing 🙂

      • Thank you so much =) My husband has chronic pain, has had since he was a child (he was born with a condition). I am about to tear out of my skin after a week. I am not coping well, I do not know how he faces it everyday. Best wishes to you as well.

  2. What is Curious Flowers? Do you have another blog? I’d love to read it.

    These are sad, taunting things, aren’t they:
    “A sodden yard,
    A park at rest”

    There’s just something inside of us that makes us crave the outdoors. And when we’re locked out (or in, as it were), we feel so stir-crazy and antsy to run around. But we’re trapped indoors for whatever reason, weather or otherwise.

    I love the way these lines sound together, that “flames”/”rain” combo:
    “Simultaneously up in flames
    Such a simple thing rain”

  3. Pingback: Candle Shower | DarkLight Harbor·

    • Thank you so much! I know the source of my stomach pain is an ulcer and the good thing about that is at least I can do something, I am not guessing blindly but it does mean I can’t take anymore painkillers. I do not know why my spinal column has decided to rip itself from my body yet but I am going to do everything I know to do with Pilates, yoga, hydration, heating pads, and liberal amounts of seaweed and hope something works!

Leave a Reply

