Stream of Conscious

Sometimes love goads,

It forces reticent wings

Into a blinding wind.

When in your company

I prefer disturbance

To the quantifications

Of a habitual silence.

My days are sheets

Of crumpled paper

And these poems

Which are awakenings

In theory are only

Fodder in practice.

Whose thighs and whose hands

Cradle my organs mutely?

Whose lips tear prophetic riffs

From my capricious knees?

Who needs to repeat the mistakes

Of their predecessors to recognize

Their own penchant to madness?

We want all our angels diseased

That we may count our blessings.

For each life there is a luxury

That will euthanize it

If substituted for passion.

It feels to me that I have several poems in here but I didn’t give myself enough time to write today so I guess this is more stream of conscious than poetry.

8 responses to “Stream of Conscious

  1. Sheesh. This is incredible!!! My favorite of late.

    “When in your company
    I prefer disturbance” … This makes me smile because I’m a little troublemaker. I like to pick fights with my husband, just for funsies, you know. I’m so mean. 😉

    “Whose thighs and whose hands
    Cradle my organs mutely?” … Freaking fantastic! One would hope you’d know, but really … who does?

    “We want all our angels diseased
    That we may count our blessings.” … Babang! That is awesome!!! And yes, we do. I can’t believe you’d admit it though! 🙂

    “For each life there is a luxury
    That will euthanize it
    If substituted for passion.” … This is some of the best philosophical poetry I’ve ever read here. 100% true. Thank goodness for these “luxuries” though. How on earth would we depressed-people survive without being euthanized?! And really, past a certain age, there’s no room for passion … especially if we’re raising children to chase their own. People don’t admit it, but they sort of kill themselves when they have children.

    • Hubbies are made for teasing 😛

      Oh wow thank you so much for your very generous compliment! Children do demand quite a lot of room and quite a lot of attention, finding that balance between encouraging them and remaining sane and vibrant yourself is difficult. I certainly haven’t gotten the knack of it.

  2. Sometimes it pushes us off the cliff before we are ready.
    That second stanza is cool, it is dense as well – so I am still wrapping my head around it, but I like it. Ha.

Leave a Reply

