Wordle #125

125

I shift my answers

To the center,

One must have magic

If one is to take heart.

I split the avenue like a bell

Footsteps echoing,

Belligerent as a stain

Always announcing

My whereabouts,

My mutability, as I skulk

From place to place

Desperate to remain unused.

In my dreams there is only me

Though I wear many costumes

I appear most often as a house.

What intrigues me most

Is that we pay for our mediocrity

However, profound our gifts.

(the secret to genius is sweat)

We want to possess,

To change without struggle,

To validate without work.

Scarred and encumbered

I have wept and waited

I have withered and illumined.

But the most profound role

I have ever portrayed was man.

10 responses to “Wordle #125

  1. What intrigues me most
    Is that we pay for our mediocrity
    However, profound our gifts

    are the thought provoking lines for me today.
    wondering, there in the end – was it man as in male, you were thinking
    or was it man as in human. each gives and interesting twist.

  2. This is not my official comment, as I like to return a few times before sharing my thoughts. But I did want you to know that I just read the opening line as saying, “I shit my answers,” which is priceless. Thank you, thank you, thank you. There should be more poems that say such truths, even if only unintentionally. 😉

Leave a Reply

