Photo Challenge #76 Hope and House and Wordle #214

Hope and Houses Oprisco

– oprisco

I foster my houses on the vertical

That they may lounge among the stars.

The rot of long held secrets

Has at last been stopped.

I am free to speak, to deal

My hand in the game of life.

Nothing incredible is ever easy.

I wear your eyelashes in amber

The wishes, like worms, gnawing

Away at my insides.

That your smile were here

Chirping alongside my own

There could be no greater malady

And no greater mirth.

Love has swallowed me,

Taken all that was important

And inopportune within.

Come again and we shall

Build of all these houses a home.

213

Click the image to access the challenge

21 responses to “Photo Challenge #76 Hope and House and Wordle #214

  1. Some cool elements in this. I like the opening. Livfting houses to be among the stars. What freedom there is not living under secrets …that to me is the crux…and love

  2. Because you used the word “foster” in the opening, I immediately thought of an orphan. Only instead of feeling like she is the one being fostered, she looks at it as if she is collecting and attempting to care for the houses where she’s placed … as if each house/household/family is assigned to her to nurture, instead of the other way around. But then inevitably she is abused, taken advantage of, and/or underappreciated. She has so much to give, but no one seems to want it.

    I think this poem is about her coming of age and finally being free. I think she stacks the houses vertically (symbolically, you know) for safekeeping. But now she’s free to walk out on her own.

    “I wear your eyelashes in amber” … This is her mother. She still has hope that they will be reunited and that they will at last be able to build a home together.

  3. Love has swallowed me,

    Taken all that was important

    And inopportune within.

    Come again and we shall

    Build of all these houses a home.

    What a way to tie things together and end the poem.. love your use of words and the simple complexity (oxymoron but so true) and depth of them

  4. The photo prompt actually reminds me of my son’s yard. The trees are full of homes for various birds, and squirrel – and his fiance feeds some of the other small wild life too. I like the line about the vertical homes reaching up to the stars.

    Thank you for your kind words on the words that you provided 😉
    Purely fiction though one can only hope that some do rescue some tormented souls who had the misfortune ending up in the wrong places.

Leave a Reply

