Music Friday Prompt #6 “Stand Up” by Hindi Zahra and Wordle #123

123

You hollow my silences like a drum.

We were heading South long before

Our journey began. Filters clogged

All my ins are out, all my pieces

Strewn in the gusts of your ambivalence.

You have to choose me

Before the springs in my womb

Loose all their kinks

And I am too old and too bitter

To let you hear my fiercest cries.

If you want to keep

This train from spilling

Headlong into a ditch

You’ve got to conduct yourself right.

Before enough becomes

Too much to sustain

You have to say yes.

Simple and literal from me today, not my strong suit!

For

https://mindlovemiserysmenagerie.wordpress.com/2015/08/28/music-friday-prompt-6-stand-up-by-hindi-zahra//

9 responses to “Music Friday Prompt #6 “Stand Up” by Hindi Zahra and Wordle #123

  1. I don’t know. I think it’s pretty good. I like poems with a narrative. Love this: “You have to choose me

    Before the springs in my womb

    Loose all their kinks

    And I am too old and too bitter

    To let you hear my fiercest cries.”

  2. “You hollow my silences” … What a fascinating thought. My gut reaction is to say, how could you make silence more hollow? But really, what has more depth than silence? And so here, he’s emptying your depth of itself.

    Great line: “Strewn in the gusts of your ambivalence”

    I like that it sounds like you’re giving him an ultimatum, but you’re not really. You’re telling him his only possible answer. That’s funny. 🙂

    And it’s a good thing you’re smart enough to tell him he has no choice, because men given ultimatums always walk away.

Leave a Reply

