Photo Challenge #75 Trapped and Wordle #213

none_but_my_own_by_vishstudio1

– vishstudio

 

A lucid wine saturates your lips,

A kiss that stains my hollows, luminous.

Is it captivity I crave or imprisonment?

A moment devoid of everything save

My own feckless, habitual ravings.

There are no winners here,

There is only commitment,

A crippled attempt at being human

(Though that implies so little these days).

I would rather be foreign,

A puzzle chiseled through bone and sinew.

My choices are my own,

They come of temptation

They come like honey through

My interchangeable veins.

However, superior the pursuit

There are always those

Who would designate less.

I cannot find a way of escaping the confines

Of my own dumb sentience, the singular gift

Transfusing and exasperating my sorrows.

A man is nothing if not a scavenger of egos.

For

banner

and

MLMM Tree

10 responses to “Photo Challenge #75 Trapped and Wordle #213

  1. That second stanza carries so much of this. No winners, just commitment. Is commitment not a winning? Can it be? Is the commitment to being human? Is a crippled attempt the best we can do? Those three lines really sent me spinning.

  2. I really appreciate how you’ve taken this image – which has a strength and power, and so many possibilities in its own right, and then have used whatever the words were from the wordle – and have woven a story that has as many layers and complexities as a spider’s web.

    The imagery – and some of your lines – wow – just so apt – and explicit in defining thoughts, while leaving just enough room for the imagination to fill in blanks – as possibilities.

    Really amazing job Yves 😀

Leave a Reply

