Wordle #74

Week 74

A girl stricken by madness.

Her petrous womb sags

In its crinoline cage,

In a scorn emboldened

Not by merit but by ornamentation.

She is fragile, beautiful

A lily amongst swine.

She is only twenty-three

Driven by chaos

And condensation,

Tears occupy the gist

Of her feverish youth.

She is a belljar,

Full of vinegar

And disparate parts.

Her fertile heart siphons exaggeration,

Men with complications and courtesies

Men in white coats and paper shoes

Accessible but inscrutable

Like a needle’s grinning eye.

A jaundiced darkness sups

At her brazen dreams.

Voices tumble in from the vents,

Shrill and unmanageable.

She listens through osmosis,

Vague and patient.

They bury her in a blanket

Starched to parchment,

Her cracked lips shucking

A licentious moon.

For

https://mindlovemiserysmenagerie.wordpress.com/2015/08/17/wordle-74-august-17-2015%E2%80%B3/

29 responses to “Wordle #74

  1. These are my favorites:

    “Driven by chaos
    And condensation”

    “She is a belljar, …………… (I love that book)
    Full of vinegar
    And disparate parts.”

    “complications and courtesies”

    “Accessible but inscrutable
    Like a needle’s grinning eye.”

    “Shrill and unmanageable.
    She listens through osmosis”

    “Crazy, would-be whore” is always my favorite character at the asylum. But those doctors are pretty much required to fight her off, which thickens the plot, of course. This makes me think of Girl, Interrupted (one of my all-time faves; yours too, I’m sure). More asylum poems, please! I LOVE them.

    “They bury her in a blanket” … God, this is sad. She killed herself, didn’t she? Only in death is she really able to open her mouth, and by then, it’s too late. She spent all that time trying to give the docs blow jobs, but all she actually wanted was to be able to speak freely, crass sense of humor and all, and have everyone like her anyway.

    You should have heard the niceties coming out of my mouth at the church gym this morning, surrounded by older ladies complaining about the “bimbos” on TV (aka, “cute young girls”). OBVIOUSLY they’re automatically bimbos, right? Ugh. Anyway, I just played along, like a good little girl. Gotta keep the masses happy, right? No one really wants to hear from someone who disagrees, has her own weird thoughts, or thinks it’s kinda fun to act like a lunatic ass. It’s a good thing we girls know how to properly “crinoline” our brains.

    Oh, and all the while, the one dude in the room (one of the ladies’ husbands) wore headphones the whole time to block out the women folk, yapping away. Hilarious. I thought he was gonna bust a gut (whatever that means) with all the noise he was making “pumping iron.” Cracked me up … on the inside only, you know. It’s impolite for girls to laugh aloud, I’m sure. 😉

    • I love the Belljar! It was the first real book I ever read. I was 15. Before that I just read whatever was lying around the house and my parents have questionable taste. A teacher recommended it to me and that book in combination with Arthur Rimbaud’s A Season and Hell and Illumination was what lead me to start writing poetry. I also enjoy writing about asylum life and reading about it. I do in fact love that movie and watched it again like a month ago!

      Well I for one like your openness, your realness and I love your comments! I have never been good putting on a show I am just too weird and even when I think I am nailing it socially I am still being eccentric apparently. I actually tend to like older women because there’s a point where they just don’t fucking care and say whatever they want.

  2. Wowza, some days I think you’re writing about me, that you can see into the closets of my mind….eek! The is a great wordle list–well, they all are, but this looks really wild.

  3. This is a smash hit – right out of the ball park – into the bell jar – which is an “interesting” place to land. Or not. It depends on circumstances.

    There are far too many lines for me to signal out – I’d basically just be recopying the poem – it’s that amazingly poignant and strong. I would suggest that this is perhaps one of your strongest pieces yet.

    Provocative. Powerful. Each line holds exceptional strength and meaning – the imagery is so rich in the brutality and sadness – the depth of the “lost” – superbly written Yves. Your muse was in high form! 😄

      • Odd – that – I mean you’re the one who has been published and all – and to me – that’s a sure sign of someone who has “made a mark” – and so, I would suggest, although I’m just dabbling and allowing myself the right to write – and yes, with modesty I do say, sometimes it works out rather well – but I find your works to be “out of this world” – in the best of senses.

        You are indeed a creative talented force with reckoning within the spirit 😀

      • Oh wow what a tremendous compliment! As a side I have material for book 2 and I feel I should have enough for book 3 but the administrative stuff I struggle getting through it, the reading and the rereading and the grammar and the meticulous organization. I am disciplined in writing and that took years of blood, sweat, tears, and mental breakdowns so hopefully someday I will figure that other bit out. You are amazing never doubt it and about the coolest person ever =)

      • LOL — okay — are you seriously dazed today? 😉 the coolest person ever? Ummm no – but I’ll take it as a compliment that I am just the mixed up mess but at least its mine that I am 🙂

        So thank you.

        As for the “technical” end of it all – the writing, then the formalities and bits that need absolute scrutiny and attention – well, if you’ve done it before – and been through hell and back to “get it” – then you can do it again – and it should be easier – the more you have to “practice” with the critical eye – the easier it becomes to know how and when you need to step back from a piece – re work it, toss it and even if you love it – know that in the grand scheme of your writing flow and journey – that its shit. It may be the nearest and dearest to your heart – but ultimately, you *know* —- and that all comes from the aspect of learning to critique – well – and properly, respectfully. So, take heart and courage – you have done the process before – it may not be the most enjoyable aspect – but if the end result is more work published – if that is your goal – then it is worth the efforts – because each time, it becomes another milestone of accomplishment!

        So you go woman!

      • haha thank you so much for your empowering advice. You are cool though, a woman who knows who she is and is who she is that to me is coolness and you can really all the plaid polyester bell-bottom jumpsuits you want (is that just me?) and I will still think you are the bees knees lol I have adopted Plath’s philosophy of never tossing a piece I work them all to completion, until they exhaust my creativity. That said they are not all appropriate for publication. I notice though people often like the poems I think are shit haha I think it is because it exposes a part of me I am not comfortable with but that people want to know. That is the positive theory, I have another lol

      • *snorting* — at the “theories” —- and here’s the thing – you don’t even have to “go to the darker side” – because I “get it.”

        Funny thing though – especially I suppose when one writes with such force and power – in blood as it were – it leaves people wondering – trying to “read” into the person behind the words – which is a compliment in ways – but what’s interesting – is that some people forget that what is actually written may NOT be a part of who we are, or what we have experienced. Some writers have the innate ability to write deeply, even about things foreign to them, and it resonates with power.

        That’s the curious part – the readers who are left wondering – and we all do it – because we have all read books where we wonder – how much of what has been written is “factual” and slightly modified and what has been created.

        As for being cool – okay – thank you. And yes, I’ll don my bell-bottoms – not plaid or paisley – would save paisley for a tunic – and be content with myself, my own tune, and quirks, even as I go about discovering them 😄

      • I often write by channeling characters because I have such a curious lack of certain types of experiences. I was never normal and so there are these huge gaps in my societal, social resume (or whatever you want to call it). I am an abstract person so I need something to ground my work and make it real otherwise it just does not make sense. I am not even sure if I am making sense now lol

      • LOL — no,I get it – I understand – but channeling characters – well I think most excellent writers do that, consciously or not – for what is ‘normal’ in life? Besides, a wealth of “life experiences” is lived by each individual – and there is no way we could possibly cover the bases as it were – and in some cases, we wouldn’t want to anyhow. So – we write as we are able – and the annoying bit – is when some damn creation channeled into being decides to take up semi-permanent residence in your head – and then over spills into reality – as in, Character X pours coffee a certain way, and you find yourself recreating the scene, because you are so wrapped and perhaps warped into the fictional reality. Happens to many who write longer pieces of fiction.

        So, eh? “Normal” Fuck it. Just be and create as you are. That’s amazing enough. 😀

      • Creating characters was always my favorite bit about video games lol I have 100s written down and who can say how many more in my head. I am fascinated by psychology and philosophy. As Rimbaud said It’s not enough to be one person you have to be everybody or something along those lines or perhaps he never said it, it just came out of a movie but nevertheless lol

      • It gives us freedom to express and be – and to explore – and that’s what gifted creatives need – the infinite possibilities! You go woman! 😄

  4. Def hints of Plath throughout and her own journey. The womb ina crinoline cage is a solid image that has a message as well. Easy to follow. The asylum is a scary place – been there. Solid piece yves.

  5. I’m glad you like older (intelligent) women. You’re right…we say what we think…and once you have overcome the importance of what others think of you…you are truly free. I’m a Plath fan too. I even like the movie ” Sylvia” as well.
    ‘a needle’s grinning eye ‘is a great line describing the inscrutable men in white coats.

  6. I come out from under the moon and stars and it grows worse by the days at times. The lights are destroying the most beautiful time of the day or should I say the most beautiful time of the night. But they say we need the night lights to keep our evenings safe. The brighter the lights at night show our fear and paranoia. Let the moonlight and stars do their job…among with the help of firearms. I don’t mind that the caliber size might grow with your paranoia.

  7. All all this is new to meI just thought I’d try out something different on my computer maybe you could help me on my mission to learn to understand more about these interesting avenues of modern technology I used to work as a volunteer restoring old computers So just by pressing A few buttons one day made me feel as if I had achieved more than average which is usually nothing. Have a nice day I’m going to get some junk food.

Leave a Reply

