Wordle #69

Week 69

Your sluggish sockets tiptoe

Across the flagstones.

Face-down, tongue wadded

At the cusp of speech.

Your chitin flakes,

Messages ill-intended seep

Into your heart’s binary call.

Cruelty breaches and sickens.

Your jaundiced ego

Shrivels on the stalk.

Emanations carmine and ash

Drip from the bubbling curdle

Of your untenanted smile.

The hours reveal days

And even the day are long

When all that proceeds

Them is humiliation.

For

https://mindlovemiserysmenagerie.wordpress.com/2015/07/13/wordle-69-july-13-2015%E2%80%B3/

30 responses to “Wordle #69

  1. I am happy feeling like you will never stop delivering poetic punches with your verses, such as this one is:
    “Your chitin flakes,

    Messages ill-intended seep

    Into your heart’s binary call.

    Cruelty breaches and sickens.”. It is an image, so to say, ugly to imagine and try to empathicaly experience while reading the poem, but at the same time, the way you word it also makes it sort of distant, alluring, necessery. It is like a bridge to defining, healing and moving on, for me at least 🙂

  2. There is so much underlying emotion in these words – almost a cruelty written as a response to repeated traumas or events – a depiction and description that needs to out itself – to name the name as it is truly known.

    Such forceful and emphatic lines – well versed Yves. And yes, I had this incredible image of an insect – a bug – deplorable and detested – crawling about – it’s that incredibly interesting and yet hard to integrate word “chitin” ….. so well done.

    • Thank you so much, I really do like that word but seldom do I have the opportunity which is why I like the Wordles the exhaust my ingenuity and lately they have unclogged my creative juices

      • well – they certainly have us jumping and working on ideas – perhaps leading some of us to stretch and flex our creative wings too!

        And it’s always fun to consider random words in a new way – and I have to admit – I was initially “afraid” of them! Seriously – and now, I love them – especially yours – because they offer an interesting, eclectic mix – and range of depth. So … wordle away 😀

      • I was afraid of them when I first started too even though I chose “easy” Wordles. I often found myself stuck but then I got it into my head to make my own and then it started to open me up and I was able to do other Wordles as well.

      • It’s about the approach – it should be a fun little “side-trip adventure” – which often leads to “great things” — for me, it was about the “mindset”!

  3. Humiliation. That is not a lot of fun at all.
    It is debasing. Belittling.
    I agree with the above commentor on the felt cruelty
    through this. Vicious piece.

  4. Messages ill-intended seep
    Into your heart’s binary call.
    Cruelty breaches and sickens.
    Your jaundiced ego
    Shrivels on the stalk.

    Pity that there are those who enjoy making things difficult for others. It would invariably result in others’. battered ego. Great lines Yves!

    Hank

  5. ‘untenanted’ another fine word to add to another list….

    Reminds me a tad of me growing up – as I got little or no support from my parents. ‘Jaundice Ego’ stood out. Wow. That and the ‘untenanted smile.’ It was always like they were putting on a show, and I had to wonder just who it was for. Since it wasn’t for me.

    Thanks for your kind word on ‘When in Rome’.

Leave a Reply

