Wordle #164

164

Your lips, though muffled, sizzle.

Every enunciated hello burns

With a singular commitment

A desire for addition,

For language both raw and organic.

I will not be a number, however,

Profitable I have a right to more

Than my ill-placed existence.

The sun stomps malignantly

Through a fair-weather sky.

I empty my hollow leg

Into your ripped stockings.

The background seethes

Deities of necessity and invention

With scratch and sniff powers

And interminable reach.

It takes a lifetime

To forge one’s desires

And several more

To elicit them.

*

Not such a good day for writing I have a serious case of sleepiness despite having already slept long and deep!

13 responses to “Wordle #164

  1. Yes, it does take time.
    I really like hte opening in this, how their words beg for more to be added –
    the hollow leg line really caught me – and trying to fit it into their stockings (perhaps their expectations)

  2. “A desire for addition” … I love this line because of the math, but also because it actually first struck me as saying, “A desire for addiction,” which is also powerful.

  3. Powerfully well written Yves – with some absolute “in your face” but with a charm and eloquence turns of phrase – I empty my hollow leg / Into your ripped stockings. … being but one.

  4. Pingback: “HELLO” (for Mind Love Misery–Wordle 164) | Dim Scribbles Diary·

Leave a Reply

