Wordle #186 “Photons”

186

Brenda Warren

I arrange roses in a Mason jar

That smells of strawberry jam.

A throat full of birds seizing

The songs caged in my heart.

I will always remember

My first suicide and how I failed

Even to summon death.

I wipe the mud from my boots.

The crocuses jitter in the breeze

A shamanic fervor, a crossroads

Whenever I see the color blue

I unravel my girth and head south.

The shine of one derelict star

Promising to encompass everything.

Owls skulk in the dead of night

Soundless, invasive, their talons

Set like thorns into a spastic frame.

I thread moonlight

Through my xenophobic veins

An inferential lobotomy

A triumph of photons over provisionals.

12 responses to “Wordle #186 “Photons”

  1. sometimes
    life
    is
    like
    walking
    through
    mud
    while
    thoughts
    of
    suicide
    shine
    in
    the
    night
    and
    time
    is
    held
    together
    with
    a
    slender
    thread
    as
    the
    beauty
    of
    a
    rose
    hides
    its
    deadly
    thorns

    but
    the
    wise
    owl
    knows
    that
    eventually
    we
    all
    meet
    at
    the
    crossroads
    where
    the
    crocus
    grow
    wild
    and
    birds
    in
    their
    fervor
    for
    flight
    blacken
    the
    sky

  2. Very powerful and evocative imagery – dark and yet light as well. A balance sought yet, perhaps not perceived.

    Loved this line: A throat full of birds seizing / The songs caged in my heart.

    What an image!

  3. I held my breath a bit when you got to that first suicide and surviving it. It can be rough feeling that you can not even be effective in ending your own life. The taking off of the mud from the boots, can be read rather like dusting off the sandals to continue on the journey.

    • Exactly X! I did make such an attempt in high school and I am glad it failed because life did get better, I am still mentally ill and I still struggle with even basic things but still some pretty miraculous things have happened

Leave a Reply

