Grail

I assign dreams to you,

Whole lifetimes,

Veils to obscure

Your inevitable failures

That we may know

Perfection if only

In the beginnings.

The tug of eyelashes

Undressing the irises beneath

The paradoxical greens

Triumphant in application

You look at me as if

To remove my trappings,

My indeterminates,

My limestone scars, quarried.

I disintegrate at your insistence

Passing electrons fed on

A disquieting cumulus.

The emptiness fills me

Heavy, insistent.

I rock my way to the shore

Swallowing great mouthfuls

Of procreative mire.

Extract the grail from

Its pulpy manifestations

Drive it into the grave

And watch it rebirth itself,

A moment to culminate

All our dazzling shifts.

7 responses to “Grail

  1. The tug of eyelashes / Undressing the irises beneath

    What an incredibly inspired phrasing of an image and emotion! Holy smokes!

    “My limestone scars, quarried.” – Powerful, rock solid (no pun intended – okay, maybe just a small one) line.

    As usual Yves – really great piece – it rings with a clarity through each stanza. 🙂

Leave a Reply

