Photo Challenge #58, Surrealism, April 28, 2015 and Wordle 198

Tess Photography

Tess Photography

I dine on dendrites and cherry blossoms,

Sipping tea from an earthenware mug.

The puritan in me navigating the clown

Transposed in your upside down smile.

My wounds burst like glass from a windshield

The cacophony of your laughter instilling

A seal in my fleecy, vestigial heart.

The sound of our screams filling

One another like bowls of whipping cream

We tumble over confectioneries

And conversations that perspire.

When I shut my eyes

I remember that the voices

Inside are mine

Even if the frequencies emitted

Do not correspond

To any known tendency.

Linoleum is the saddest of all compromises,

Cold and sparing against our ill-begotten flesh

I should have ridden you bareback

Into the garden, beating your name into frenzy

My fingers dripping with voodoo and pollen

My lips a very precise shade of zeitgeist

As if the clock could clone our sacred places

And shoot them out in a vertiginous stream.

For

https://mindlovemiserysmenagerie.wordpress.com/2015/04/28/photo-challenge-58-surrealism-april-28-2015/

And

banner

17 responses to “Photo Challenge #58, Surrealism, April 28, 2015 and Wordle 198

  1. My wounds burst like glass from a windshield
    Linoleum is the saddest of all compromises
    You always have a line or two that really resonates. And linoleum is the saddest of all compromises no matter what it’s use.
    Great piece. I’m not sure I can write to this one.

  2. Really amazing combination of words and image – and certainly, there are some absolutely smashingly brilliant and evocative lines – lending to the overall flow and ambiance. Totally exacting.

    Standouts:
    ” Linoleum is the saddest of all compromises, ”

    I should have ridden you bareback / Into the garden, beating your name into frenzy / My fingers dripping with voodoo and pollen

  3. I’ve recently found your blog – your work. Only hours ago I was skimming WP blogs and saw poetry on a handful. At that time, and days ago also, I had came to the conclusion that poetry is no longer my “thing”; classics, sure; contemporary, new, modern, etc, not so much. Years ago, when I was a young teen, I wanted (and tried) to write poetry and wanted to do it so very well, of course. My mind was then (and is now) unable to flow in this way. The word combinations needed for imagery I just cannot master,and you know what? That’s okay with me. Maybe I was mistaken though with my recent, anti-poetry feelings. Your word choices are wonderful. The word combinations you use seem to teeter on the edge of “this is absurd”, and yet, they work brilliantly together! The last one had me visualizing (with a naughty smirk across my mouth) things I have never imagined before. You have a new follower, for sure.
    Thank you for changing my mind.

Leave a Reply

