Heading South Snippets

1

Yours was the first heart

Suckered and heavily fanged

Nursing at my jugular.

That sticky red milk,

Inflating your terrible ego.

2

I, a melting candle,

Diminished all the more

For your insatiable darkness

Found myself malleable,

Featureless, my tears,

Hardening to scars.

3

My love was only a toll

Each passage, a prison,

A cost and those stalked streets

Leading nowhere.

*

Some snippets I scribbled before bed

10 responses to “Heading South Snippets

  1. “…my tears, hardening to scars.” Either literally, figuratively, or both, these are such true, unfortunate, words.
    In 1 – very strong and vivid imagery. I love how your poetry can power-boost my thoughts. I really should start having pen and paper nearby when when I read you.

Leave a Reply

