Punch Drunk

I have been very busy his week, writing a little here and there. I haven’t been able to complete a poem for the morning post despite my best intentions. I have several going but the constant interruptions are creating rifts/imbalances in the pieces (I keep losing the threads). I am reading a lot. I’ve found another poet I love. I am hanging out in the library and it feels fantastic. I am at that stage where I see the edge, my limitations and I want to push through but I haven’t acquired enough experience points to level up yet haha. When I am like this I write some good lines but also a lot of pretentious and incoherent gibberish. It is frustrating to say the least but the only thing to do at this stage is to keep writing and swallow my pride (the failures are necessary). I am setting off all the alarms. Too cliche! Too wordy! Too complicated! Too choppy! Too self-indulgent! I am impatient. I keep screaming at myself: simplify, remember the message, write what you know. I am punch drunk. I might have to write something decadent just to purge the system!

 

16 responses to “Punch Drunk

    • I have never been described as patient Michael lol I am going to use the weekend to just sit down with a poem for a while and work. I have had a hectic week which included but was not limited to the dentist for Isadora, social engagements, therapy, a very hard test, and even an oral presentation!

  1. I know the feeling. There’ s been many times I’ve started out with the best intentions of writing something and …damn, it just doesn’t happen. I hate those kind of days. 🙂

Leave a Reply

