Wordle #50 Uncanny

Week 50

Flagellation is essential to belief

A strap to blister, a victim to scale.

Never rise above your station

Never question unless

The answer can be persuaded

Down to a solitary utterance.

 

There are days

When I gnaw at the aureole

In want of a stimulating vice.

There are nights

When I howl at oncoming traffic

In want of an accident

To test some madcap thesis.

The days line up

Shoulder to shoulder

Heel to heel,

Not even a shelf

Fills without consent.

 

No one could be

More dangerous than I

Cassock-bound since conception

I did not arrive here

On my own faith

But on the faith

Of those too craven to believe.

 

Guilt is a powerful

Preemptor of allegiance.

My nostrils were still sealed

When the throat

Of my destiny was slit.

If this is not hell

Than the resemblance

Must be uncanny.

 

For

https://mindlovemiserysmenagerie.wordpress.com/2015/03/02/wordle-50-march-2-2015/

20 responses to “Wordle #50 Uncanny

  1. Are all who believe that any luck is good so positively wrong.
    And yet I know many who fit the bill of your verse.

    “Never rise above your station
    Never question unless
    The answer can be persuaded
    Down to a solitary utterance.”

    I am sure many who have little and want only for the simplicity of basics feel just so…

  2. I was writing from perspective of a disgruntled monk so there was some sarcasm in those specific lines but there are many who simply want answers that they do not have to search for

Leave a Reply

